Faith, Trials, Trusting God

Map: How is Your Spiritual GPS?

Hey everyone, I have a little news . . . I’m working on building a website. In a few weeks my blog will be moving over there. I’m so excited for you to visit my new little home! I’ll keep you filled in as the project wraps up. My blog will still be filled with encouraging posts, uplifting truths, and pretty pictures, it’ll just have a new home. 🙂

*****

Picture of a map, the visual for the theme of this post

By Lisa Jordan

I turned on the Maps feature on my phone and looked at the GPS. The robotic voice commanded me to go southwest then turn right. Okay, but I wasn’t sure if southwest was right or left. 

My mom thought we needed to turn right, so we did. 

And my GPS rerouted us around the block—or so I thought—to get back onto the road we needed to head out of the busy city.

However, instead of connecting us back to the route I was familiar with, the GPS guided us a different way. And honestly, that way had less traffic, less congestion, and less roadwork. 

A country road leading into the mountains

The residential area offered landscaped homes, well-kept schools, and parks where children played with their parents and dogs. 

Even though I’d been to the city hundreds of times, I was seeing this area for the first time. After an exhausting day, the views were soothing, and I was able to relax.

Finally, the GPS directed me back onto the main road I needed to take me home. 

An image of a stone-and-wood-filled path leading between tall trees

At first, there was a little concern about getting lost, especially in an unfamiliar part of the city, but I had faith in my Maps app to pilot me where I needed to go. 

If I had taken that left and gone home the way I’d come, I would have missed out on touring through that calming neighborhood. 

I think that’s how we can be with God. The Bible tells us we can order our steps, but He will direct our paths. Faith is believing without seeing.

A meme with the words: "in their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps." !Proverbs 16:9 on an image of three bunnies on a gravelly path

How many times, though, do we struggle to keep moving forward in faith without knowing where God is leading us?

We can make goals, create plans, and write out to-do lists and then be so focused on achieving them that we are taken down alternate routes of annoyances.  We miss out on blessings God is sharing with us—interrupted writing time to chat with a friend. Helping a family member. 

An image of a curving mountainous road with a sign indicating to curve right

We can view those interruptions as annoyances, but God is in control of our time, our plans, our steps.

No matter what we’re doing, God wants to stay connected with us. Sure, he may reroute us down different roads, some filled with potholes that may last through seasons instead of minutes, but no matter what, He’s with us every step of the way. And even better—He knows the best way, so following him will take us to the greatest destination of all.

An image of a foggy road curving downward

I know how difficult it is to follow God when the path seems hazy, potholed, or even too dark to see where the next step may be. We may make mistakes from time to time that lead us down the wrong road, but when we get back in alignment with God’s will for our lives, then He will reconnect us with the best route to take for the path He’s mapped out for us. 

Just like you would do on a long road trip, keep checking the map to be sure you’re headed in the right direction. If you lose sight of the plan, you might find yourself on an unfamiliar street. But, pick it right back up again, and you’ll get back on track! God isn’t concerned about whether or not you achieve perfect progress in a goal; He wants your heart. 

An image of a gravel path with a wildflower growing toward the path

And step by step, prayer by prayer, moment by moment as you seek Him, you will remain on the right path. Connection with God will keep you in check with Him.

Prayer: Lord, I’m afraid to set out on a path that’s not yours. Please give me a spirit not of fear, but of power, love, and self-discipline (2 Timothy 1:7). Thank you for the map—Your Word—and for the ability to pray directly to You! Please help me to stay focused on You as my goal instead of the approval of others, accolades, or the pleasure of checking things off a list. I want to work hard for You for the right reasons. Thank you for guiding me and keeping me on Your path! In Jesus’ name. Amen.

What about you? When has God led you on an unexpected path and what happened? What helps you trust God when He places you in unfamiliar places?

Click to Tweet: How many times, though, do we struggle to keep moving forward in faith without knowing where God is leading us?

I’m linking up with #TellHisStory and #RaRaLinkup

Bio: Heart, home, and faith have always been important to Lisa Jordan, so writing stories with those elements come naturally. Represented by Rachelle Gardner of Books & Such Literary Management, Lisa is an award-winning author for Love Inspired, writing contemporary Christian romances that promise hope and happily ever after. Her latest book, Season of Hope, released in March 2019. She is the operations manager for Novel.Academy, powered by My Book Therapy. Happily married to her own real-life hero for over thirty years, Lisa and her husband have two grown sons. When she isn’t writing, Lisa enjoys family time, kayaking, good books, and being creative with words, fibers, and photos. Visit her at lisajordanbooks.com

15 thoughts on “Map: How is Your Spiritual GPS?”

  1. This path is unexpected,
    and cancer really sucks.
    I feel, by God, neglected,
    and so far out of luck,
    and man, it hurts so bloody much,
    and I am now so tired
    that it would be, really, such
    a relief if I got fired
    from the duties of the days,
    from the call to write of hope,
    from all of the myriad ways
    that I can no longer cope,
    but that is not offered me;
    instead, my road to Calvary.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good morning, Jeanne! I’m so excited about that new online home you’re building. No doubt in my mind that it will be as warm and inspiring as ever. Enjoy your creative technological journey, friend.

    I just can’t wait!
    xo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am currently living in an unexpected path that’s put my life in danger. Because of it, I am leaning in harder to God than I ever have before. If anyone would’ve told me this would be my life, I would not believe it. I mean it’s bad enough dealing with a pandemic! Please keep me in your prayers.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Amen. This definitely resonates! I am so grateful God will always direct my paths (no matter how many times I get lost!!).

    Like

  5. Great post, Lisa. Moment by moment and rayer by prayer, taking one baby step at a time will keep us walking in faith. But we have to remember to step out in faith and know Jesus is walking with us. I certainly don’t want to miss out on what He has in store for me!

    Like

Comments are closed.