Change, Hope, Seasons: the Changing of Seasons, Uncategorized

Seasons: The Changing of Seasons

Image

I’ve been waiting for spring.

Winter has worn hard on most of the United States this year, with barely a respite from snow and biting cold. Even in the monotony of the landscape, there is beauty in winter time (Yes, I know some will refute this!).

Our lawn wore a mantle of brown until early last month. Our lilac bush is just now beginning to sprout green leaves.

The birds are back, singing to me each morning, and I love it! Flowers blooming in vibrant colors shout of joy to my soul. Well, except for the dandelions.

Image

Image

Isn’t it interesting how much a change in the seasons can lift the spirit?

Summer promises warm days, green leaves catching the sun and the hope of being able to relax a little. Autumn’s cooler weather and brilliant colors refresh after the heat of summer. It invites people to huddle in close with loved ones. Even winter’s white on gray hues display stark beauty and offer the chance to draw near to those we care about.

Image

But winter to spring, well, that’s my favorite season change. When cold gives way to the hug of warm days. Low hanging clouds morph into the cotton ball variety, promising thunder storms rather than snow.

Birdsong and flowers bursting into splashes of color are my favorite part of the season change. I can’t get enough of God’s color palette!

Image

Season changes are easier to embrace than life changes. Sometimes I see a change coming. As my boys near those teen years, I’m already catching glimpses of the changes.

I love the stage they’re in now. Fun, exuberant and still wanting cuddle time with Mom. I keep reminding myself there will be good changes as they mature. Part of me yearns for them to stay just as they are.

Image

Image

Changes in my husband’s work. He has busy seasons that force longer hours into his schedule. I know it’s only for a season, but we all miss him when he travels or has a critical deadline. I know he’s providing for our family, and so the change is necessary.

Changes in my commitments. I’ve cut back on outside activities to create more time for writing. Ladies’ Bible study and lunch dates with friends take a backseat in this season as I figure out my writing journey. I miss some of this, but I’m excited to see where God leads on this path.

Image

The changes I know will come are sometimes difficult to embrace. When I can step into them looking for the beauty God brings in the process, it’s easier to be optimistic about what’s coming. When I choose to trust God’s plan to be the best plan in the midst of the change, my spirit knows peace.

Waiting for—anticipating—life seasons can give hope during the dark moments of the current season. Knowing seasons will change infuses the spirit with hope.

What about you? What’s your favorite season? How do you deal with change in your life seasons?

12 thoughts on “Seasons: The Changing of Seasons”

  1. Favorite season? Summer. I’ve lived all my life as a summerdog, and God willing it’s how I’m going to die.

    I can understand the ‘change of seasons’ that one experiences with kids, though I never had any.

    For me, the season of ‘growing older’ is one I’m going to skip, I think – and good riddance. I don’t have a persona that would age gracefully.

    Valhalla awaits.

    Like

    1. I love the more relaxed schedule summer brings. Sleeping in, swimming at the pool, time for playing, It’s definitely a great time of year. 🙂

      That season of growing older…..I think each day we have on earth gives us one more day to learn to walk with God’s grace. It’s not always easy, though is it? 🙂

      Thanks for your thoughts, Andrew!

      Like

  2. “When cold gives way to the hug of warm days” … Jeanne, that was such a sweet way to word it. I love that. It’s so hard to pick a favorite season. I love them all for one reason or another. I love summer only for “no school” … but I don’t like the extreme temperatures here in Texas. I love fall, but school starts. Because I homeschool, I miss the freedom of summer! How do I deal with change in life seasons? Well, I know I shouldn’t write this, but I think my surgery has flung me into the “change of life” … hot flashes … I’ve never sweat so much in all my life … had work-ups done yesterday at Dr’s office to find out. And I grabbed my girls and cried for a minute. “I’m too young for this, I said.” Decisions over medications or not (I would say “NOT” but I have headaches from it all). And I don’t want a moustache!! Ha!! But then, holding them in my arms, I straightened up with, “It’ll be okay!”

    Like

    1. Yes, that BIG “Change of life” time…..I’m nearing it too. Yikes. That’s big personal change for a woman.

      I understand your like of summer for the freedom it gives. Our heat isn’t as intense here, but we get some hot days. My kids are so, SO ready for summer. I’m getting there. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by, Shelli!

      Like

  3. Beautiful reflections on the changing of seasons and life changes. I could truly relate to all you shared. It’s a new season for my family and one I knew was coming and the only thing I could do was trust in God and His plans. I loved this ~> “When I can step into them looking for the beauty God brings in the process, it’s easier to be optimistic about what’s coming.” That is what I keep reminding myself . . . find the beauty. Count His blessings. Beautiful post. Blessings.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Beth! Family seasons almost always seem to be changing in one way or another. 🙂 And yes, we lean hard into God and choose to trust as the changes come, don’t we?

      Thanks so much for your kind words.

      Like

  4. “Change of life” is far behind me, and let me tell you youngsters, its no big dal! When you have God in your life, it’s a cake walk. All that comes with aging is not bad. heard a good word today: paint hope on your imagination! Picture the good things you want to see happen in your imagination. Paint the pictures there and watch God fulfill them. He is a loving Daddy!

    Like

  5. Because I live in Texas, I favor the Spring and Autumn months, more Autumn because I have a time with allergies when flowers start popping up. I know, terrible right? I’m also anticipating a new season as my son gets ready to start preschool and kindergaten. Leaning on God to guide me…or more accurately, trying to. 🙂

    Like

    1. Gwen, with the heat in Texas, I definitely understand your choice in seasons. It sounds like you’ve got significant changes coming up in your life seasons as well! Yes, leaning on the Lord is the best way to weather the changes. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  6. I love your flower and sky photos; and I have to say that this spring has been my favorite season! We are about to put our house up for sale, leave our jobs, and move — this summer. It’s something we’ve been planning for, but still … the frenetic pace is wearisome. I just keep leaning on God and reminding myself that it will pass soon enough. Sometimes I have trouble being in the present and enjoying the day by day that He gives.
    Lovely reminder that we all go through seasons and it is never easy. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Wow, you have some big changes coming. I’ve found that even the anticipated changes—the ones we’re excited about—can still leave us weary. You’ll be so excited when you’re in your new-you place. I love what you’ve done with it. Yes, leaning on God…..I think that must be an unwritten theme when it comes to change. I’m glad you’re working to enjoying being in each day and not just getting through each day.

      I’m so glad you stopped by!

      Like

Comments are closed.