Five Minute Friday scribblings, God

Sing: The Power of Song

+Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—SING. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

***I confess, for as much as I thought I had to say about singing, I couldn’t get my thoughts down coherently. I hope you enjoy it anyway. :)***

SING

Today, I attended my youngest’s final elementary school concert. The bittersweet that welled up in me took my by surprise. We’re approaching the end of another life chapter. Next year, he’ll be in junior high, growing and changing.

I loved the concert today. The energy of those sweet young voices filled the cafetorium with a fun energy that left the audience smiling. These kids had a confidence as they sang their songs.

Some sang with smiles creasing their faces. Others sang so serious. Some heads bobbed in time to their music. Some kids shared dances, others played instruments that enhanced the accompaniment.

 

There’s something about singing that is powerful. Singing has the ability to lift spirits, to clarify confused feelings, to replace anxiety with peace.

Singing can unite people of different belief systems. When believers sing in worship those doctrinal differences seem to slip away, at least for a little while.

Song creates a depth of emotion that the spoken word never can. The music, the words set to tune, the harmonies . . . these all speak to the depths of our souls.

Singing transcends the human condition.

It’s going to be humbling and amazing to worship Jesus standing next to His angels. The purity of worship in heaven will be more than I can comprehend this side of the veil.

 

God talks a lot in the Bible about singing. And it has nothing to do with the quality of our voices. It’s all about the heart the song comes from.

My hope for my son, and his classmates, is that they will come to understand the beauty of singing together. Many voices singing one (or two or three) notes. And the beauty of heart-level living.

And for their mothers to watch in wonder as their children grow and mature.

What about you? Are you a shower singer or an in-front-of-people singer? What strikes you the most about singing?

Click to Tweet: What does singing do for us?

I’m linking up with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday—SING

24 thoughts on “Sing: The Power of Song”

  1. Yes, we’re definitely in similar chapters of life, Jeanne! Love your quote, “Singing transcends the human condition.” I can only imagine what heaven will be like! 🙂 Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

  2. What strikes me most about my singing are the large, heavy objects thrown by all and sundry within range of my voice.

    When I could still attend church, I was asked not to sing, because it messed with the musical enjoyment of others.

    So, no. I don’t sing nowhere, no how, and never will.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You made me laugh, Andrew. 🙂 I bet if you sang to the dogs, they’d join right in with you. 🙂 And won’t it be wonderful in heaven to be able to sing without large objects being hurled your way? 😉

      I’m praying for you, friend.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Music is amazing in it’s ability to instantly transport us to a place in time. I’m thankful my girls got their musical talent from hubs side of the family. But I will be able to sing on key in heaven : )

    Like

    1. Jo, music is amazing. I can hear certain songs and be transported back (in my mind) to a place where I heard it before. My mom always said I got my singing voice from her mom. And for that, my mom is thankful. 🙂 It will be so amazing to hear everyone singing melody and harmony in heaven! Have a wonderful Friday!

      Like

    2. Shane says, the last shall be first in heaven. Those of us that can sing will be in the back! He can’t carry a tune in a bucket and was actually told once by a voice instructor that there was absolutely no hope for him.

      I was blessed to join 10,000 voices at a conference many years ago back in our accapella church days. (I miss accapella worship). It was absolutely beautiful and gave me a small glimpse of what heaven may be like.

      Like

      1. What a thought, Christy! I guess I’ll be standing in the back with you. Although, I’ve never sung in an a cappella group. 😉 That must’ve been amazing to be singing with so many voices!

        Like

  4. Music is so powerful, isn’t it? God didn’t gift me with the ability to sing well, although I’ve certainly coveted that as a talent over the years. I do enjoy listening to others perform. One of the sweetest blessings of motherhood is watching our kids sing. I’m with you, I’ll be sad when the elementary school concerts are all in my rear view mirror.

    Like

    1. It really is, Heidi. I wanted to begin this post with the thought of how my youngest sings while doing his chores, sometimes, and when there’s a song on the radio that he likes. Nothing makes me smile quite like the sound of one/both of my boys singing. 🙂 I’m learning not to rush through the seasons of mothering, because when they’re gone they’re gone for good. Enjoy those concerts!

      Like

  5. I think singing DOES transcend the human condition, Jeanne. The Israelites lamented, “How can we sing the Lord’s song in a strange land?” — but they did it. They were able to express their grief in song. Music expresses so many moods and emotions — and yes, it will be glorious to sing with the angels in the presence of God, when all tears are wiped away. Thanks for your words today.

    Jeannie (#23 this week)

    Like

    1. You’re so right, Jeannie. Music does express so many moods and emotions. It’s a release of things held in, isn’t it? I’m so glad you shared these thoughts. Have a great Friday!

      Like

  6. Oh, can I even begin to imagine what the sound of song around the throne room in heaven will sound like? Feel like? Gives me shivers. I love the way your post reminds us of how song can overcome so many things and bring unity! Thankful for your words, Jeanne! Visiting from #38 and praying blessings for you today!

    Like

    1. Christine, I look forward to hearing the whole heavenly congregation singing praises to God. And I love that He made song so powerful and healing for the human spirit. Enjoy your weekend, and thank you for the prayers!

      Like

    1. Tara, I think that’s one of the coolest things about music, song. We may not be able to sing, but song still ministers to our hearts, doesn’t it? Thanks for stopping by here. 🙂

      Like

  7. I was in a professional play as part of the ensemble once, and was told to mouth the words when singing! So, I sing but only when my voice can be drowned out and very softly! But I so loved how you remind us that scripture says to sing our songs of the heart. So true! Even if out of tune, rejoicing is a spirit song that God delights in. After all, He is the one who also designed each of our voices.

    Like

    1. How fun, Lynn. It’s good to know our strengths and weaknesses, isn’t it? I love what you said….we should sing songs of the heart. I’m glad that God listens to our hearts over our voices. Isn’t it amazing to know God gave each person a unique voice? Have a great weekend, friend!

      Like

  8. It’s definitely true that singing has power to focus our minds on God, to restore our peace, to lift our spirits. How wonderful that you got to see your son’s concert. Special memories for later. 🙂

    Like

    1. Yes, Betsy. They’re definitely special memories to hold onto later. When my oldest had his sixth grade concert, he even did a little impromptu dance in the middle of a song. Yes, I caught it on video. Classic. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.