Enjoy: When Life Is Busy

Thanksgiving Breakfast table

+Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—ENJOY. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

ENJOY

I cannot believe Thanksgiving is in ONE. WEEK. Where has this year gone? How much activity and busy-ness will these final weeks hold?

It’s going to be a struggle to not get sucked into the siren’s call to get everything finished. Concerts attended. Hugs given out. Letters completed and mailed out. Presents wrapped. Parties attended.

With so much busy-ness and unexpected happenings on the calendar? How does one enjoy the season?

As I recall, Jesus came into this world on a quiet night. The world was bustling around Him, but He came in stillness. And in stress. Joseph sought a place for Mary to give birth to Him. The Savior of the world.

He didn’t come into the middle of a big city. But in a stable. With the low rumble of animal breathing for His lullabies.

Shepherds were His greeters. And a few wise men.

candles-stillness

The point is, there was some busy-ness, but there was also sacred stillness.

I’m staring down the squares that represent the days left in this year, and if I let them, they are going to consume me.

I could come to December 31st tired. Disappointed in the things the season didn’t hold.

I feel the stress. I want the stillness.

The beauty of thinking about this now is that I have time to make some choices.

Because in the midst of the busy-ness, I can create times of stillness. I can choose to slow down enough to savor moments with my husband, our sons. With extended family. With friends.

I get to decide which activities I say yes—or no—to. I can decide what I do so I can enjoy this season.

in-times-of-busy-ness-copy

After all, we’re celebrating giving thanks, aren’t we? We’re rejoicing in Jesus’ birth in a few short weeks. I’m pretty sure He doesn’t want us so worn out that we can’t enjoy the party. That we can’t savor being with Him.

I wasn’t sure what I was going to write about for this post, but I think the post found me. God’s giving me a nudge to choose to enjoy. Not to endure. And not to exhaust myself.

What about you? What choices can you make to enjoy this season? How do you create moments of stillness during this time of year? 

Click to Tweet: I feel the stress. I want the stillness.

I’m linking up with Kate Motaung’s site Heading Home—Enjoy

24 thoughts on “Enjoy: When Life Is Busy

    • Andrew, I think, sometimes, we choose to find ways to enjoy where we are. Definitely a challenge in your situation. I’ve never heard the St. Olaf choir. Thanks for mentioning them. I’m praying for you, friend.

      Like

  1. Oh yes, Jeanne, how we need that “sacred stillness.” It can so easily be swallowed up in the busyness of the season. May we make room for quiet times with Jesus! Have a blessed weekend and Thanksgiving! Hugs!

    Like

  2. Love this: “I’m pretty sure He doesn’t want us so worn out that we can’t enjoy the party.” Yes, I do feel the stress. Yes, I do want the stillness. Thank You, Father, for helping us to order our steps and carve out time for You. Thanks, Jeanne, for such a good reminder!
    Shauna (over in #10FMF this week)

    Like

    • Shauna, thanks for the encouragement. I love that we can offer that to each other. I know that as we seek Jesus, we will find Him. I’m grateful He wants us to want to spend time with Him. May we both choose to be intentional about seeking Him, especially in the coming weeks. 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, Annie. I’m trying to find that balance between the darkness of Advent and the busy-ness of the season as well. May we both find those sacred moments to be with Jesus. Thank you for stopping by!

      Like

  3. This is so wonderful,Jeanne! I don’t want to be too worn to celebrate my savior’s coming into the world…great reminder to hold onto the sacred. I’ve gotten much better at “enjoying” the holiday season. The closer I get to God, the clearer I receive the true meaning of it all. And worry and stress has no place. Jesus is the Prince of Peace.

    Like

    • Mandy, you’re right. As we grow closer to God, it does become easier to enjoy Him and not allow the busy-ness to overwhelm us. I’m still working on the worry and stress having no place in this season. I’m glad you’ve got a better handle on it than I do. 🙂

      I’m so glad you stopped by!

      Like

    • As an extrovert (most of the time), I don’t hide from parties. 🙂 But I also love quiet moments and alone time. I’m glad God is helping you to enjoy people more. 🙂 I hope you enjoy this crazy, yet special time of the year, Meg!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Lynn. I’ll definitely be looking for those moments of stillness. I don’t know how things are this time of the year in your corner of the world, but I hope you, too, find sweet quiet moments with Jesus!

      Like

  4. Ah, my times of stillness come early every morning–but it’s hard to hold on to them when my house is full of visitors and everyone stays up late and I want to sleep in, too! I’m making my time of stillness a priority this season–even if it means taking a mid-afternoon nap ;).

    Like

    • Anita, I just realized I never got back here and responded! Grrr, it’s already looking like a busy season. Sigh. 🙂 My times of stillness come in the early morning too, or right after I’ve dropped the boys off at school. Good for you on making stillness a priority. If we don’t make choices to make it happen, those moments get eaten up by other things. I’m already recalibrating how I find stillness too. 🙂

      I hope your Thanksgiving was a good one!

      Like

Comments are closed.