Five Minute Friday scribblings, Trusting God

Lift: Who Lifts You?

Holding Hands

+Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—LIFT. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

LIFT

Did you ever have one of those days where you just have to keep pressing on? You’re weary. The kids are pulling at every strand of who you are. But you cannot quit. You can’t run away to Australia (though I threaten to sometimes).

Or, maybe the job is demanding every part of you. A rough boss. Taxing schedule.

We all become weary.

I love the picture of Aaron and Hur lifting Moses’ arms during the battle. They strengthened him to do what he had to do.

To lower his arms meant death for the Israelites.

They were an interdependent community. Moses knew he needed help. Aaron and Hur were available to help him.

Why is it, we think we have to go through life strong . . . alone?

Why do we fall for the lie that everything must be carried on our shoulders?

God has given us friends, He’s placed people in our lives for a reason. He created us with a deep need for fellowship.

Can we do life alone? Maybe. For awhile.

But we’re going to fall to pieces. We’re going to be defeated by the enemy when we try to do life in our own strength, isolated.

Dad-son arm in arm

He created us to benefit from being helped by others. I believe God may even place us in situations where the only way to get through is to reach out for help.

When we ask for help, when we let others lift our arms? That’s when we are strengthened. When we let others help us, we are given hope . . . and so are they.

There are blessings to be given when we allow others to come alongside us in lifting our arms, our spirits, our eyes to Jesus.

It’s only when we invite others to lift us up in prayer that we can thrive. It’s when others lift us up physically—spiritually—that we grow.

Three friends silhouette

And we also gain a better view of who God is, and who He is in us and others.

Don’t be afraid to let others in. Don’t fear trusting others to lift your arms.

What about you? What’s the hardest thing about asking for help? What’s been the greatest benefit of letting others help you?

Click to Tweet: When we let others help us, we are given hope . . . and so are they.

Today, I’m linking up with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday—LIFT

33 thoughts on “Lift: Who Lifts You?”

  1. Great post, Jeanne! So very true.

    For me the hardest part of asking for help is discerning whether I ‘really’ need it, or am asking out of laziness (I can do something but would prefer not to); or as an implicit plea for attention and sympathy.

    And yes, asking for help under the appropriate circumstances is nothing but positive, because it allows another person to extend the Hand of Jesus…and forces me to take that Hand.

    Like

    1. Andrew, you’re right. There are times when we might ask out of laziness. And, sometimes we may ask to gain the attention of someone. I hadn’t thought about this. We do have different motives for asking for help.

      It’s beautiful when others can “extend the hand of Jesus” . . . on so many levels. Beautiful image, friend.

      Like

  2. What a truth that God sometimes puts us in situations where we need to ask others for help. He uses those situations to train me because unless backed into a corner, I so often try to handle more than I should.

    Like

    1. I tend to be like you, Emily. Sometimes, God will place me in situations where I have to have help. I’m slowly learning the lesson too . . . it’s okay, good even, to invite others into our situations to help us. I’m learning to turn to Him more quickly before saying yes. And that’s another story . . .

      Like

  3. Isn’t it crazy how we seem to be convinced that we must do everything on our own?!? That we are weak if we can’t handle it. It’s such a lie. God made us to be with others. And so then we must also be made to work together and rely on one another. 🙂

    Like

    1. I know, Kadie! I don’t know where the idea that we have to do it ourselves comes from. Actually, I thin I do know where it comes from: the enemy of our souls. Yes, I’m with you. I believe we are created to work together and be interdependent on each other.

      Thank you so much for stopping by my place. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. We both thought of the same story from Scripture. As I read that portion this morning, it struck me that Moses did not ask for their help. They saw for themselves the need and stepped in. This morning I prayed that the Lord would give me eyes to see the need and wisdom to know when to step in and lift. Glad to be further reminded by your words of our need for community. Blessings!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that, Joanne. The story of Aaron and Hur came to mind as soon as I saw the prompt. 🙂 I love your insight. Oh, that we may have eyes to see those around us whose arms we can lift, without necessarily being asked.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh my goodness how your wisdom speaks to me today! Visiting from FMF #25 and I relate to so much of what you wrote. When I hear others voice hesitation at asking for help, I feel sad and yet I still do it myself. Ugh.

    Peace.

    Like

    1. Patricia, there are people in my life who hesitate to ask for help too. Like you, I don’t always humble myself to ask either. There’s a time to “just do it.” To invite others in to help us. 🙂 May we both become better at doing this. 🙂

      I’m blessed you stopped by. Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Frank leaves today for his hiking trip, and already our community has rallied and offered to help, even though we’re only on our own a few days. I love that we have built such a community that no matter the length of time, they know how to support. It’s so humbling and so incredible to see the beauty of lifting each other.

    Like

    1. I love that your community is rallying around you, Annie. You are my inspiration in the area of being intentional about surrounding yourself with community. I hope your “girl time” this weekend will be filled with delightful moments.

      Like

  7. Yikes! I don’t do ‘asking for help’ very graciously. God has definintely worked on me throughout the past thirty years, though! I can ask for prayers now (not something that came easy for me), but I have a difficult time asking for physical help or ‘helping out’ sort of help because I figure I’m young and strong and should be able to do it myself!

    Like

    1. God is pretty interesting in that He has ways of teaching us lessons. I’m learning that asking for help, allowing others to lift us requires a degree of humility. Whether we are asking for prayer (admitting we don’t have it all together, or for other things), or asking for some sort of physical help, we have to be humble. With some of the injuries and surgeries I’ve had over the past few years, God’s given me opportunities to do this. 🙂

      SO love hearing your thoughts. 🙂

      Like

  8. Beautiful, Jeanne. Such truth and wisdom in these words. Receiving support is somehow often harder than giving it, isn’t it? Just this week I’m again discovering that where we fail in our stubbornness to accept it, God often nudges us to serve someone He knows will bless and slow our souls…and that causes us to stop to REALLY see and receive Him.

    Like

    1. Anna, thank you for your encouragement. It is harder to receive support than to offer it! I’m so thankful God is patient with us as we learn this challenging lesson. He has many unique ways to teach us. 🙂 And you’re right. He blesses us in the learning.

      Like

  9. It’s a terrible mindset, this one of “I must do it all, and do it all alone.” I’m not sure where I picked it up, but I know it’s there. So one blessing of being sick is have no choice but to ask for help. I don’t always like it, but I’m pleased to find that, more often than not, people are glad to lend a hand.

    Like

    1. Marie, as one who has strived to be independent since her teen years, it’s a hard mindset to break. For me, I always felt like I had to prove I could do “it.” I’m with you. In the past few years, having surgeries has given me opportunities to ask for and lean on others for help. And, like you, I’ve found that most people have been happy to help. Crazy, huh?

      Like

  10. I was just thinking – what IF, we had God Himself as our friend? When the times are such that all other friends leave us, would He not always be with us and lift us, whatever?

    I don’t agree that God places us in difficult situations. It’s our own karmic accounts of the past which lead us to such situations. God, being our Father, can never give us grief. Agree?

    Like

    1. Interesting thoughts, Raspal. I definitely agree that God will never leave us or forsake us. You bring up interesting thoughts. I think God allows us to walk through difficult situations. Sometimes because we have made choices that land us there.

      Because God is our Father, I don’t believe He will always clear the path for us to live an easy life. As our Father, He is going to give us what we need to grow into all He’s created us to be. An earthly father doesn’t do everything for his child. He lets the child learn through making mistakes, through struggles. But our heavenly Father walks beside us through struggles. I don’t believe God gives us a smooth path devoid of any difficulties.

      The Bible says the rain falls on the just and the unjust. We’re all going to face difficulties in this world. I think what makes the difference is whether or not we walk through them with God or walk through them in our own strength.

      Does this make sense? Thank you for adding to this conversation, Raspal!

      Like

  11. By receiving lifting up by others, we are giving a chance for those others to use their gifts. Receiving and giving are so intermingled that one reflects the other!

    Like

    1. You’re right, Lynn. When we let others help us, they get to exercise their gifts. There’s a lovely giving and receiving that happens. I agree, one can definitely reflect the other. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

  12. beautiful jeanne! took me too long to learn that it isn’t all up to me…that i need community. just when i think i’ve learned it, i am put in a position to learn it more! GOD is good that way:)

    i grew up in a culture of lone ranger christianity that was not healthy or even Biblical…they would have been horrified to hear that! Learning how false that was has been a great exercise for me for certain:)

    Blessings:)

    Like

    1. Martha, I always say that God teaches us the same/similar lessons, but on a deeper level. When we’ve got a good handle at one point, He shows us that, yes, there’s more to learn. 🙂

      I’m glad God has helped you to see that as Christians, we are interdependent on each other. It’s a beautiful thing when all is functioning in a healthy manner.

      Like

  13. As someone who has been accustomed to doing things for myself, one of the things I had to learn as a Christian is dependency on God and interdependence in the Body of Christ. Even as someone who has walked with Him for decades, I still need to be reminded to call on him for help even in those situations where I believe I can manage by myself.
    I love that you have highlighted that Aaron and Hur took the initiative to support Moses without being asked.I pray that as members of the Body of Christ, this will be our mindset – to assist one another, especially our leaders, so we can maintain a position of victory against the Enemy of our souls.

    Like

    1. I’m with you. There are times when I still have to be reminded to ask God for help. It’s far too easy to mope when I have trouble working through a situation. When all I have to do is call out to Jesus. Raising a teen and a ‘tween have given me many opportunities to cry out for help. 🙂

      I’m with you. I want to grow more in helping others before they have to ask. Great thoughts.

      I appreciate you stopping by!

      Liked by 1 person

  14. So great! Truth! “It’s only when we invite others to lift us up in prayer that we can thrive. It’s when others lift us up physically—spiritually—that we grow.” Absolutely love this! Thank you! Community is a HUGE theme for me right now!

    Like

    1. A belated hello, Carey! Community has become a big theme for me lately, too. 🙂 I keep coming across things that relate to it. I’m learning to listen a little more closely. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

  15. Jeanne,
    I struggle with help, because I’m a giver and relater. I like to help others but don’t like to accept help. It’s so uncomfortable to receive. Sadly, it makes me so stubborn that God’s help is just as easy to refute. That is not the way He wanted my life, so my oneword this year has been “humble”.
    Love that we’re a couple of recovering perfectionist firstborn goody-two-shoes girls together and Colorado natives!
    Delightful post!
    I was holding my delightful niece Friday and didn’t post at all. Thanks for your comments the week prior. I am finally catching up.
    Love,
    Tammy

    Like

    1. Tammy, please forgive me for not responding sooner. I spent all of the days leading up to last week getting my kids ready for school, and myself ready for a writing conference. Last week, I did not have the opportunity to comment, but I loved your words.

      “Humble.” What a powerful word. I love your description of you and me. 🙂 Spot on. And some day, we definitely have to meet. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.