Five Minute Friday scribblings, God

Create: Made to Create

Colorful wildflowers

+Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—CREATE. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

CREATE

It’s been one of “those” days at the end of a busy, unexpected-happenings sort of week. And our word is CREATE. I love God’s sense of humor. So, with a slightly weary heart, here goes . . .

*****

Isn’t it an amazing thing to stop and realize that we were created in God’s image? He made us uniquely, but with facets of Himself intertwined within each and every one of us.

God is a Creator. Because we are made in His image, He’s given a bit of that aspect to each of us. Some of us create through words. Others through paints and oils. Still others through photography. We share pieces of ourselves in the ways He’s created us to reflect Him. (Click to tweet)

When we create, we share in His beauty. We share in the joyful art of bringing something from nothing.

No, we don’t create trees with our breaths, our words . . . unless perhaps we’re describing it on paper.

View from half mile point K-trail

We create more than just artistically. Hubby and I aim to create memories with our boys. Things they can hold onto that knit them into the fabric of our family.

Those memories we’ve lived, we’ve shared? They are part of what bind us together.

No one has walked through the joys of body surfing in Hawaii in the way we did. The heartache of working through various emotions. The love of mountains. The laughter that surrounds our table on family game nights.

We create memories with those around us. When we invest in others, we are creating bonds that strengthen us as people. Bonds that encourage us in the low times. Opportunities to speak truth and love into others’ lives.

When I stop to think about it, I’m amazed that God imparted this aspect of Himself into the essence of our DNA. He’s given us opportunities to reflect Him to the world around us.

To be that grace,

To offer the mercy that He gives us.

To be the words that can share Him with those who don’t know him yet.

Reflecting pond

In creating a message with our words and actions, we shine His light to those around us. We create an image for them to see Him more clearly.

What about you? How do you create in the world around you? Which of God’s aspects astounds you the most?

I’m linking up with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday post—CREATE

30 thoughts on “Create: Made to Create”

  1. Great post, Jeanne. And you stir a yearning in my heart, for what I can never be.

    I guess that what I create is a kind of humourless ferocity. Having been trained to ring down extinction on those who warranted it, I don’t have a lot of use for frivolity. Go big and go hard, or don’t show up…that’s not a very nice way to relate, but God created me to this end.

    I’ve tried to change, and the results were pathetic. Some swords don’t make good plow-blades.

    #1 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/07/your-dying-spouse-181-creating-survival.html

    Like

  2. Love this Jeanne! I especially like the reminder of the memories we all have the ability to create. Those can turn into legacies and that is beautiful.

    Like

  3. Yes! I get hung up on “God made you to create.” I do think, “Well, I can’t create a tree, etc…” But, creating memories? A safe family? I can do that. Thanks for this reminder!

    Like

    1. I know what you mean, Annie. I don’t see myself as creative, but I think I’m learning to expand my definition of “Create,” which helps me release limitations on myself. Thanks for sharing here!

      Like

  4. Hi Jeanne

    We were created in God’s image. What does that mean? How does God look like? Certainly not like any of us men and women. Then, what does this sentence mean? Can you try to explain?

    BTW, how did you start with titles for these FMF posts? I still use the post titles like “Today’s FMF prompt – Create.”

    Like

    1. Hi Raspal, thank you so much for visiting. A simple way of describing what being created in God’s image is this. No, I’m not saying we look like God in our physical attributes, so much as I believe that God has placed aspects of His character, His nature into the fabric of His creation. God is a creator, and He’s given us a creative nature. He is kind, and He’s given us a capacity for kindness. Do we always act kind? No. But He placed the capacity to be kind within humans. I hope this makes sense.

      As for titles, I consider what my blog posts are about and I try to title them in a way that reflects what they’re about. 🙂 I hope this helps!

      Like

  5. hi jeanne:) beautiful post. i love that you posted on creating memories. reminds me of some that we have created over the years. I can picture the times we have spent at the ocean as well as a few in the mountains. thanks. have a blessed week

    Like

  6. THIS:”In creating a message with our words and actions, we shine His light to those around us. We create an image for them to see Him more clearly.” You and I were thinking along very similar lines today. I’m in the 51 spot.

    Like

  7. Enjoyed your entry this week. I often tell people that I’m “not creative” because I don’t paint or sew and I can’t “craft” for the life of me (nor do I want to) and I don’t build beautiful furniture the way my husband does. But who am I to denigrate the way God made me? Who am I to say that I’m not creative? There are, as you point out, many different ways to live creatively.

    Like

    1. Marie, it’s so easy to denigrate the beauty God created inside each of us. I’m so guilty of this! I believe you’re living creatively in just the ways God made you to. 🙂 Hugs, friend.

      Like

    1. Shannon, thank you so much for stopping by! For too long, I’ve based my estimation of creativity on what I saw others doing that was “creative.” I enjoy stamping and scrapbooking, but I haven’t done them in years. It’s not my season in life for these. 🙂 I love creating with my words, but I can be so critical of myself. I’m glad God helps us to be creative in our natural bents. And in our seasons of life. Creating memories with my kids is right up my alley! 🙂

      Like

  8. The bonds of family are so precious. Love the idea of creating memories. I have many beautiful childhood memories that I so cherish now. This is so true: “When we invest in others, we are creating bonds that strengthen us as people.” Thank you for your beautiful words and beautiful photos.

    Like

    1. Anna, I have many wonderful family memories too. Since becoming a mom, I’m realizing the importance of creating memories with our children. These bond us together . . . those “Remember when…?” moments, where we laugh, remember, cry a little. I want to knit my children’s hearts to mine, and I especially want to lay the groundwork for their hearts to be knit to Jesus. They can remember the work He’s done for them, the ways He’s shown up in their lives.

      Like

  9. I am amazed when I think that God took the time to create me, and has allowed me to create, or rather be involved in what pleases Him to create. When I think of creating, it brings to mind when I write on my blog, outline my novel, making a collage, and how easy it can be to get lost in this ‘creating.’ It brings me joy, and so I know it also brings God joy when we operate in the gifts He has given us. It connects us in ways that I don’t think we’ll truly ever be able to comprehend during our time on earth.

    Like

    1. I love that you get lost in your creating, Tamara! I love crafting my stories, hearing from God when a blog idea comes to mind, and those rare times when I get to scrapbook or make cards. I get lost in the fun of planning and creating. I think you’re right. When we create, we bring joy to God. He likes seeing us use the gifts He’s given us. 🙂

      Thank you so much for visiting!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. This is what I want so much: “In creating a message with our words and actions, we shine His light to those around us. We create an image for them to see Him more clearly.” This is a terrific reminder of how we reflect Him in all His creativity! Thank you!

    Like

  11. When we consider that every person is created in the image of God, we realize that we’ve also been given unique talents to use for the glory of God.

    C.S. Lewis put it this way: “There are no ordinary people. You have never met a mere mortal.” 

    We are a unique reflection of God — Different from the rest of Creation and given a role in His creative work. Unlike the rest of Creation we will one day answer to God — we should make the best of it!

    Like

    1. So true, Gene. We must remember that every person is created in the image of God. They may not be living like it, but that doesn’t change the truth. I love that quote by C.S. Lewis. It’s a great one to keep in mind when I see people and I have those cynical thoughts.

      Yes, we should make sure that we live our lives now in a way that will please our Father. May we live our lives in a way that reflects His glory to those around us.

      Like

Comments are closed.