Five Minute Friday scribblings, Trusting God

Protect: Who Protects You?

Flag waving

 

+Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—PROTECT. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

PROTECT

I’m blessed to be surrounded by protectors.

My father served in the Navy as a young man. He protected our family from many things, acting as a shield at times. Providing for our needs, protecting us from homelessness when I was a girl. We didn’t have a ton of money, but we always had enough food and a roof over our heads, and I always knew I could go to him with anything.

My husband, his brothers, and their father served in the Armed Forces for many years, protecting the rights so many Americans take for granted. They’ve laid their lives on the line to protect the people of our nation.

IMG_7638

But there’s One who protects completely. 

Though we may not always see God’s protection for what it is, He secures us. God tells us He’s always with us. He’ll never leave us, never forsake us.

He’s a shield about us. How many times do we see His shield covering our lives? Honestly? I rarely take the time to look for His protection.

The times I do search for it most often revolve around the storms and trials that enter my life. Then I’m calling out—begging—for His protection over me. Protection from the storm and sometimes from others’ choices.

The thing about God is that he never promises to protect us from the storms (Click to Tweet). But, He always walks with us through them. He protects us with His presence, His sovereignty.

Nothing will pass through our lives that He hasn’t already vetted. He sometimes acts as our umbrella, our sounding board, our strong tower when we are weak.

Gods walks through storms copy

He is the best protector. As much as I love my husband and my family . . . as thankful as I am for their willingness to sacrifice their lives to protect the rights I enjoy . . . I’m even more thankful for the One who sees the things I cannot see and protects me from them.

What about you? When have you seen God protecting you? Who has been your protector in a physical sense?

I’m linking up with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday—PROTECT

27 thoughts on “Protect: Who Protects You?”

  1. Hi, Jeanne, God has protected my schedule lately. My mind from spiraling into fear and old habits. He has made me stronger to do harder things. Beautiful, meaningful post. Thank you and ditto—glad you’re back!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Christine. It’s nice to be back. I love that God has protected your schedule. I love when he meets our needs in unexpected ways. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Great post, Jeanne!

    I guess here is where I should thank one of my protectors, Mikhail Kalashnikov, the designer of the AK-47. My main tool was an SVD, but I always carried an AK as well on the theory that when in the bad guys’ house it was better to sound like them (and look like them, and smell like them…ugh). The AK is so reliable it’s silly, and perfectly accurate at ranges at which it counts. So, Mikhail…I owe my life to you, more than once!
    Do I get the prize for weirdest comment of the week?

    #1 at FMF this week.

    http://blessed-are-the-pure-of-heart.blogspot.com/2016/06/your-dying-spouse-175-protecting-who.html

    Like

    1. Yes, Andrew. I would have to say your comment is the most . . . unique today. 🙂 You made me smile, because it’s classic you. I always appreciate your take on things. I’m praying for you today, friend.

      Like

  3. You’re back!! 🙂 I am amazed at how God protects me. Sometimes it’s big and noticeable in the moment, but the quiet, hindsight ways are always more amazing to me…

    Like

    1. Thanks, Annie! I agree. I’ve seen in hindsight ways God protected me that I didn’t see walking in the middle of the situation. His ways amaze me too, and they remind me of how much He loves me (and each of us).

      Like

    1. Thanks, Martha. It’s good to see you too. 🙂 I think it’s fine to not write about 7/4. 🙂 I just had it on my mind because I’d been trying to figure out a way and time to post about Independence Day, and nothing was coming to mind. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading your post, Martha.

      I’m so glad you stopped by!

      Like

    1. Sarah, please forgive my delayed response. Long weekends=family at home=no time for writing/blogging. 🙂 I love when God shows us different aspects about Himself through others’ writings. I’m so blessed you stopped by!

      Like

  4. Yes only one who protects completely. We went in very similar directions this week. I’m in the 54 spot this week.

    Like

    1. Hey Tara, I’m so sorry about being so behind on responding. I love when God gives us similar directions in our writing. 🙂 I’m looking forward to reading your post. 🙂

      Like

  5. Welcome back friend! It was good to see you in the grid this morning 🙂 Your post took my mind to Eph 6, thinking about putting on the full armor of God.

    Like

    1. Hi, Christy! It’s nice to be back! Ephesians 6 is such a great chapter to help us remember that God protects us, and He gives us what we need when we face battles. Thanks for that reference!

      Like

  6. Jeanne,
    my Dad and both my Granddads were Navy men. I actually am the only one of my sisters whose husbands have not served in our armed forces. Marine, Air Force and Army, I have a brother-in-law with service in each.
    I agree that God does not keep us from storms but keeps us in them. I believe that sometimes the amount of storm we’re seeing is far less than the storm assailed at us, though. His protection is not to keep us dry, but to keep us from drowning. 🙂
    Love you and so glad you are back!
    love,
    Tammy

    Like

    1. Tammy, sorry for the delay in responding! Busy weekend with family left no time for stopping back here. Sigh. It sounds like you have a lot of military men in your family like I do.

      I agree with you, friend. Often, we don’t see the entire severity of the storm because God is shielding us from some of it. He’s protecting us. And yes, to keep us from drowning. Great word picture.

      Love you back!

      Like

  7. Your post made me think of a song, written by Bruce Carroll:

    When I cannot close my eyes
    And the night goes on
    Troubles taunt on every side
    And my doubt is strong

    Shelter me, shelter me
    Let the thought of your compassion
    Be my strength
    Prince of Peace, shelter me
    From the tempest of my unbelief
    Mighty God who calmed the sea
    Come and shelter me

    Do your promises still stand?
    Does your mercy cease?
    By the power of your hand
    Grant me my release

    Shelter me, shelter me
    Let the thought of your compassion
    Be my strength
    Prince of Peace, shelter me
    From the tempest of my unbelief
    Mighty God who calmed the sea
    Come and shelter me

    You’re right. He doesn’t always keep us from the storms. But He also never keeps Himself from us in them. Every beating we take, He is there, enabling us to stand and fight again.

    Like

    1. I haven’t heard this song before today (I listened to it on YouTube). What a beautiful song, Marie. Thank you for sharing the lyrics. They move me.

      I loved what you said about how God never keeps Himself from us when we walk through storms. Such hope in those words. I’m so thankful God helps us through every step of each storm, each beating life lashes our way.

      Like

  8. Recently I had a “Where were You?!?!?” Moment with God, remembering years of being in bondage to binging and purging, and He answered: “I was the One holding back your hair.” It was such a tender moment as He opened my eyes to His presence with me all along, even when I wasn’t turning to Him. Oh the many ways He protected me in years of chasing after everything but Him! I am so thankful for His faithfulness!!! Thank you for your post. I’m glad I stopped over from Five Minute Friday!

    Like

    1. Shauna, I’m so thankful you stopped by! Please forgive me for not responding sooner. The holiday weekend made my normal routine different. 🙂

      Thank you for sharing a piece of your story here. God was so personal for you in your years of binging and purging. What a beautiful reminder that He is with us. He meets our needs, even when we don’t see Him. I’m with you. I’m so thankful for His faithfulness, even when I’m not faithful.

      I’m looking forward to reading your FMF post.

      Like

  9. I have a friend who has told me that rejection is God’s protection. At the time of rejection, it sure didn’t feel like protection! But as time goes on, I see it is protection from moving away from His plans and allowing to be lined up to be of service for Him.

    Like

    1. Lynn, what a great perspective about rejection. I never really thought about it that way, especially when I was young. God has protected me by not allowing me to be “accepted” by certain people. When I was younger, some of those people were the partiers. Knowing my disposition at that time of my life, I would have landed in a whole world of trouble had they accepted me and invited me to their parties.

      When we can embrace the hurts of a season, perhaps that’s when we can see His hand working in unexpected ways in our lives and hearts.

      Like

Comments are closed.