News: Sharing Good News

baby-peter-and-me copy

+Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

Our Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—NEWS. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

NEWS

I couldn’t wait to hear my parents’ response the night we called to share that we were going to be parents. Years of waiting would finally result in them becoming grandparents. Finding that creative way to share our news made me giddy with joy—both for hubby and me—but also for my parents.

And for the sheer joy God had finally offered to us in the giving of good tidings for our family.

As I expected, they were thrilled. Happy tears spilled on my mom’s and my cheeks.

As we called other loved ones, our good news wasn’t always received with as much joy and excitement. Some cast doubt on our joy.

Meeting Edmund copy 3

I wonder how God felt when the time finally came for Him to offer Jesus for mankind? When the angel said, “Behold I bring glad tidings of great joy!” was that angel giddy with the news of redemption for a hurting world?

And how was it received? We know the answer to that.

The shepherds who heard those words that night? They received it with great joy, and probably a large dose of humility.

 

Others? Did they question or doubt? Surely, some people went on with daily living, unbelieving.

And yet God . . . He had such great news to share with His creation! How special that He found that unique, stand-out way to share HIs good news, His great love for this world. Who but He would have a glorious angel get peoples’ attention?

I love sharing good news, but I can’t control how others will receive it. Will this stop me from sharing it?

It shouldn’t.

Silhouette sunset

Just like when we shared about the coming birth of our first son, I should be that excited to share the amazing gift of God’ salvation with those around me.

There is no shame in sharing good news. We get to be the bearers of it, and we should be joy-filled with the gift we offer.

We can’t control how it’s received. We can only control if we will share.

What about you? What was the best news you got to share with others? How do you share God’s gift of salvation with those in your world?

I’m linked up with Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday—News

28 thoughts on “News: Sharing Good News

  1. For some reason, I have a difficult time ‘sharing’ the Good News in overt ways (probably because I don’t want to offend anyone). I’d rather live a Good News life and have pepole ask me why I am the way I am. But maybe that’s a cop out. I struggle with this.

    Like

    • Anita, I’m right there with you. Even as I wrote those words, I felt a bit convicted. I like to live the gospel, and when necessary, use words. But, there are times to speak the gospel, and I need to be more bold in doing so. I struggle with it too. Thanks for your transparency. 🙂

      Like

  2. I tend not to share personal good news. Through most of my life the people around me either didn’t care, or tried to denigrate it, so I keep almost everything inside.

    The Good News…well, I guess through the blog. I don’t see or speak to people in real time now, so it’s my only avenue.

    Like

    • Andrew, I’m truly sorry you learned to keep everything inside through how others treated you. I understand it, and it makes me sad.

      Your blog speaks much of the Good News, in the most realistic and honest of ways. It’s a good avenue. You are intentional in writing, and your words speak loudly of the Savior.

      Like

  3. Love this….full of so much hope and promise. I need that reminder. Yes I want to be filled with that exuberant joy; a joy that I can’t help but share with those around me.

    Like

  4. Love what you share here, Jeanne! I am becoming bolder in sharing, as God leads me. The other day, after a sermon on our calling and power in the Spirit, I saw a man limping in pain and felt the LORD lead me to Him. I asked to pray for healing: he kindly declined, although he was obviously delighted by the care I showed him. I biked away praying for healing, as I remembered the story of the Roman Centurion who believed Jesus could heal from afar…two weeks later I saw him again: he told me he had run 10km no problem the day before. He put it down to a cream: I went back to find him after hesitating to tell him I had prayed. I couldn’t: but then prayed asking God to give me another chance: he did- I saw him further down the street and stopped to tell him that I believed God had healed him to show him just how much He loves him. The guy didn’t know what to say, but a huge smile spread across his face! This is the Good News: God’s great Love and the JOY it brings.

    BTW I think you’d love to watch this:
    https://thelastreformationmovie.com

    We serve a God who is SO much more powerful than we can fathom!

    Like

    • Anna, I love how God prompted you and you obeyed. And that He would give you opportunities to follow up and give a glimpse of our Healer to that man? Amazing. Stepping out in obedience is always a good thing, my friend. Who knows the seeds that were planted in his life? 🙂

      Thanks for the link. I’ll check it out. 🙂

      Like

  5. I love this “I love sharing good news, but I can’t control how others will receive it. Will this stop me from sharing it? It shouldn’t.” We should always share the good news, it’s up to God what happens with our words…

    Like

    • This was eye-opening to me, Christy. In all the times I’ve hesitated to share the gospel, I hadn’t considered this aspect of it. I need to be obedient and intentional. God is the One who changes hearts, right? 🙂

      Like

  6. What a good point, Jeanne. Others reactions shouldn’t keep us from sharing. I hadn’t considered how much I think about that. I’m not responsible their actions, only for my words. Love the story about the joy you shared with your parents. Our second came sooner than expected and I could hear the “less than joyful” sound on the other end of the phone with I told my mom. It didn’t last long 😉

    Like

    • Debby, I think about others’ reactions far more than I should. I’m getting a lot better about this as I grow older, but it’s still a stumbling block sometimes. And that other kind of good news? Well, it’s not necessarily our job to make it palatable to the hearers, is it? I’m glad your mom came around. 🙂 I had a friend who had twins, and then they got pregnant with another. Her family was less than enthusiastic. I’m guessing they eventually came around too. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Jeanne, you had justifiably good (no, great) news to share with the coming of your child into the world. Yet we soon discover that God’s Good News isn’t universally met with joy and gratitude. As a young Christian I took part in street mission and pub evangelism. Blithely happy and equally blithely unfazed (then) by the strange looks or remarks I received. Now, older and more cautious in how I approach others, I pray and aim to be a living example of Jesus – the bible they can see and read if no other is available to them..gulp! But oh what a scary and awesome thought it is that we are conveyors and purveyors of grace just as we are – still works in progress and still being made new! 🙂 x

    Like

    • Loved what you shared here, Joy. And isn’t it interesting how our approach at sharing Jesus changes as our self-awareness and maturity changes? I loved what you said about us being conveyors and purveyors of grace just as we are. Thank goodness God’s grace is always more than enough.

      Like

  8. Jeanne,
    and even simpler. This week you know how I shared the Good News? It wasn’t preaching. 🙂 God brought people to mind I hadn’t contacted in a while. (we’re all working moms this year). I sent simple texts telling them I appreciated them. Nothing really. It took mere minutes.
    God turned around and used that widow’s mite to bring encouragement in His timing. Two of the three replied on different days saying that it came at the perfect time and they needed it.
    Sometimes it’s just verbalizing (digitally if we need to) that somebody came to mind. That’s God telling His children they’re loved…and we’re the newsboy (if you will).
    You have, in fact, done this for me and on Facebook of all places! Oh you are a kind, sweet sister! I can’t wait until that day I can finally give you a hug!!
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#5 this week on FMF)

    Like

    • Tammy, there is such power in encouraging words. And yes, we share Jesus in our attitudes and in taking time to look beyond ourselves and connect with others. And I love when I get to be the newsboy and He allows me a glimpse of what He’s doing in someone’s life. 🙂 You are a kind, sweet sister too my friend. I’m looking forward to that hug!

      Like

  9. Love this! I learned through our miscarriage how important sharing not great news is, too. When we shared our healthy pregnancies, it was so exciting and wonderful. When we shared our sad news, I was so amazed that our community enveloped us and loved us just the same. Learning that both are good…

    Like

    • Julie, I needed these words too. It’s so easy to get caught up in my own life and forget to look to those around me. I don’t always look (or take advantage of) the opportunities God opens for me to share about Him, through actions and words. I’m working on this. 🙂 Thank you so much for stopping over here. 🙂

      Like

    • Lynette, this is often how I live my life as well. I know sometimes, God calls me to share verbally about Him, about his gospel, and I end up getting all shaky. 🙂 People read our actions more than our words, but sometimes our words speak more eloquently than anything else. It’s such a fine balance. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.