Five Minute Friday scribblings, God, Hope

Blue: Hope in Life’s Storms

Rainy Month

By +Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—BLUE. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

BLUE

Lightning flashed and thunder rumbled for most of this month, it seems. Buckets of rain sheeted the space between sky and land. Gray skies became our norm for the first three weeks of May.

The once dry earth became saturated to flood stage. Hail flung itself . . . enough of it that it looked like snow some days.

Shoveling Hail

I’ve never seen a May like this one.

Every morning, I woke up, hoping for a glimmer of blue sky. Every morning, clouds blocked out that little glimpse of happy.

A few days ago, we again had more blue sky than gray, and my heart danced.

To see the sunshine, to see clear blue of every shade on God’s palette? It restores hope that after storms, blue does come.

Storms sometimes permeate every area of our lives. Blocking out hope. Trying to squelch our joy. When it’s nonstop, those things in our hearts that make us smile begin to dim.

The good thing is, storms don’t stay. They have a beginning time, where they block out the sun and the blue skies of our lives. But, they move on. Perhaps not right away, but they do move on.

Gray Day

Or, sometimes, we move on.

Thank goodness Jesus is our Son Who melts the clouds. Who heals the hurts inflicted by life’s storms. Who dries saturated soil so springtime flowers can again be planted and add color and hope to our lives.

Blue skies . . . after three weeks of gray, I’ll never take them for granted again. I’ll thank God for them, adding them to my Gift List. I’ll rejoice in the hope blue skies offer me daily.

Blue skies again

I’ll seek out those patches of blue when clouds part, even for a few seconds. And I’ll cling to the truth that God is the One who knows the storms, knows how much we can can handle with His help, and knows how to bring us through the storms of life.

What about you? When have you faced a storm that seems like it would never end? How did you hold onto hope during the storm?

Visit Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday offering—Blue

29 thoughts on “Blue: Hope in Life’s Storms”

  1. Really beautiful. Blue skies bring promises of God’s love and sanctuary from the storms in our lives. Thank you for the inspirational interpretation of the word, blue.

    Like

    1. Mary, thanks for stopping by here tonight. 🙂 You’re right, God is our sanctuary in the storms. Thank goodness we don’t have to walk through them alone. Have a great weekend!

      Like

  2. Chronic illness is a storm that doesn’t end the side of eternity, barring His miraculous intervention. And that’s tough. But like you say, there are always patches of blue between the clouds, and God is always present in the midst of the wind and the wave.

    I needed this reminder tonight. Thank you for writing, Jeanne.

    Like

    1. Marie, I guess sometimes that’s the best thing we can do, huh? Look for the patches blue skies that show up? And it is comforting, whether the storm is short or long, to know that God is always present. I’m praying for you today.

      Like

  3. Nice!

    Yeah, I have faced one like that…now, and before.

    Can’t stop the rain, but it falls on the bad guys too. If I can refrain from whining, that’s my tactical edge.

    Like

    1. Great perspective, Andrew. The rain falls on the bad guys too. And I like your tactical edge—not whining. I think it’s when we give into whining and complaining that our souls and our spirits nosedive and the storm wins. Praying for you, friend!

      Like

    2. I like what you wrote here Andrew. The hardest concept to grasp sometimes is the reality that God gives his sunlight to both the evil and the good, and he sends rain on the just and the unjust alike. Unfortunately when all we have is the hope that “someday” there will be blue skies but we haven’t seen them in years, its easy to forget what they looked like. Constantly whining about our situation doesn’t help, but I do believe that some periodic venting is good for the discouraged soul. I think God appreciates the honesty and welcomes the dialog. Its through those healing conversations with God that our hope of blue skies is renewed.

      Like

  4. Ah, I’ve had some cloud-blocked periods in my life. But going out in nature (whether it’s a sunny day, a snowstorm or a thunderstorm) always brings me hope!

    Like

    1. Anita, there’s something about walking in nature that refreshes the soul, isn’t there? I can be in a dismal mood, but after taking a walk, I feel better. Great tip for weathering storms. 🙂

      Like

  5. Grey skies that don’t go away. Yet there is hope that your blue skies will return. This grey period has taught me about hope. And the recent blue skies now shine on green green on the mountain and in my heart. You’re so right~ I look at the blue sky now differently, and I look ay my blessings with more thankfulness too, like you. Thanks Jeanne for the reminder!

    Like

    1. Mom, I think it is the storms in our lives (weather-related and life-related) that can help us remember to have hearts that are grateful for the blessings God offers us daily. And storms do tend to shift our perspectives, don’t they?

      Like

  6. Oh, storms – I love them in reality, when I’m nestled under a warm blanket by a roaring fire. In my walk with God – not so much. If it wasn’t for the fact that the testing of our faith produces character and perseverance and God is in the midst, I think I’d choose to do without. But yes, so grateful that God is with us in every storm, in every season and knowing that makes the blue skies all the brighter! Blessings, friend.

    Like

    1. You bring up such an important point, Tiffany. No storm is ever wasted in God’s economy. He uses them to produce character and perseverance. We may not always see it this side of heaven though, eh? 🙂 I’m so thankful that He is always, always with us in the storms. I always appreciate your comments!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I grew up with the King James Version of the Bible. I don’t read from that translation much anymore but one of the phrases I loved in that translation was “And it came to pass….” I always thought… “it didn’t come to stay” and that’s a good thing. God moves us through time and sometimes it’s storms and gray skies where we hunker down and fight through the storm. I am thankful for the blue skies and the sunshine. We don’t get stay there but we can remember in the storm that it will come to pass… it didn’t come to stay!

    Thanks for this encouraging reminder! (Stopping by from FMF)

    Like

    1. Rachel, I thought about that passage too. There’s hope in that phrase, don’t you think? Thank goodness storms don’t come to stay . . . forever. God brings hope though the blue skies and through His word. I’m so glad you stopped by!

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Jeanne,
    what a delight to read this. Oh what a difference that hint of blue can be, however brief. We usually have blue sky in the winter with reflective snow on the ground. The last two winters have been abnormal with rain and gray skies for days on end.
    I love your metaphor with storms and the truth that they will always pass. 🙂 “Oceans” by Hillsong has been an anthem for me this season, and there is nothing more beautiful than the golden lining of sun peeking through colossal clouds. I always imagine it will look that way when Christ returns!
    Love,
    Tammy
    (#17 this week)

    Like

    1. Tammy, “Oceans” is one of my favorite songs too. The thought of not putting borders on my trust can be challenging when the storms press in hard .And you’re right, looking for that golden lining can give us hope as well. Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

  9. That is a lot of hail! Michigan winters are very gray. When the sun finally comes it feels so amazing. Such a beautiful reminder of God’s provision and that he does not leave us.

    Like

    1. Lisa, we didn’t get the worst of it in town. When I was driving around later that day there were at least 12″ piled by the medians and curbs. Crazy! Isn’t it amazing how much our spirits crave blue skies and sunlight after the gray of storms and winter? I hope your skies are very blue this summer. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.