Break: When God Mends

Rock and ocean

By +Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—BREAK. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

BREAK

Have you ever looked at life through a cracked lens?

We were walking around the zoo this week when my cell phone slipped from my hand, and landed like a pancake, face-down on the hard cement of the ground. When I picked it up, the screen had a break . . . no it had crackled. When my eyes registered the cracks across my screen, my heart cringed. How could I have been so careless? Looking at it now still twists me up inside.

Cracked screen

How many times do we view our days, our lives, through one lens, and something happens that breaks us? Shatters the way we view things? People can look at us, and they may see some of the results of that break. But when the light shines on us from a different angle, other cracks appear.

When we are wounded, or a wound from our past is stepped on, new cracks appear.

The one balm in all of this is that God is the mender of each wound. We may not ever look the same again. Probably won’t if He has his way,

But like the Japanese kintsugi crafter, who mends the cracks in china, God’s binding isn’t temporary. And it’s not translucent. The Japanese menders use gold to fix the cracks. Gold adds beauty to the broken vessel.

Sunset over Pacific

And, just like those vessels, God’s mending in our lives doesn’t hide the cracks, it makes us more beautiful. The breaks in our heart don’t disappear, they make us more like God. We see others through that cracked filter, but we view them more clearly because we can look through eyes that have experienced grace.

What about you? When have you broken something that made you cringe? How do you respond when a part of your life is breaking?

Visit Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday post—Break

13 thoughts on “Break: When God Mends

  1. I’ve been broken by realizing the depths of my own sinfulness–and I became stronger and nicer because of it. I’ve been broken by the actions of the ones I love–and I became stronger and nicer because of it. God definitely makes us more beautiful with each and every repair!

    Like

    • I love this, Anita. God makes us stronger and nicer by way of the breaking He allows in our lives. And thank goodness God does the repair work, yes? It’s so much better than when I try to fix my own breaks. 🙂

      Like

  2. Well, my whole life seems to be breaking…but I’m not broken, never will be.

    Christ died so I wouldn’t have to pay that bill, and right now…for me to say, oh, I’m BROKEN! is something of a slap in His face.

    It’s like picking at a scab, and having it heal all over again, and having Him feel sorry for me…because I’ve been childish, and wanted attention…”see, I’m BLEEDING!”. Let the scab heal, grow up, move on.

    He put a hard floor under me; He made the way smooth so I might keep going. Sure, I might trip. Sure, there might be an “Oh, S***, did I REALLY do that?” event. But while those can hurt me, and make me uncomfortable, they can’t break me, any more than this illness can.

    Like

    • Andrew, I’m so thankful that God has a handle on us, even when life seems to be breaking around us. He upholds us. I’m also grateful He enables us to keep going, moving forward. Even when we make mistakes. I like how you differentiate between our lives and who we are. God refines who we are, sometimes as our lives break. I hadn’t really thought about things this way. 🙂 I’m continuing to pray for you, friend!

      Like

  3. I dropped my phone in soft, trailside dirt and it shattered. I was shocked! (This was after Bea had dropped it repeatedly on flagstone with no cracks, so I guess it was time.) I remember thinking I shouldn’t be allowed to carry something that expensive around. 😉

    I love the image of God using gold to mend the cracks. That they won’t disappear but enhance. We are trying so hard to mend a relationship with a friend and it’s very much a one step forward, three steps back. I need to remember to see God’s work within these cracks…

    Like

    • Annie, I never (well, almost never) let my boys handle my phone. I was horrified when I looked at the screen. 🙂 I hope that you guys are able to mend that relationship with your friend. It’s often a painful, patience-building process, isn’t it? And thanks for the reminder to look for God’s work within the cracks in some of the relationships in my life.

      Like

  4. Loved your words here, Jeanne. It’s so true – we can filter everything through those cracks in our lives and grow bitter and hard or we can allow God to use them to grow and refine us. I’ve found it a very subtle balance sometimes but when we lean on God, He is faithful to bind the wounds and bring healing. Sorry to see the phone though … yeah, that hurts! Thanks for sharing, friend.

    Like

    • You’re right, Tiffany. It is a subtle balance between trying to do things on my own and leaning on God through the breaking times. I’m always grateful that He works in my life, binding the wounds and brings healing. It’s often a slow process in my life, but it gives me more practice leaning on Him.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. How to take a busted up situation and put it back together? Wounded hearts crying out. And if they do not know God~ what then? Must give it to God and trust Him to work all things together for good; only He can do it: “put gold” in the cracks leaking tears.

    Like

  6. Really powerful post, Jeanne…..love how you mention the Japanese kintsugi crafters….I came across this craft a while ago and felt it offers such a great metaphor for how we move through life, after trauma…we get put back together again, cracked, yes, but so much more beautiful than ever before, for having survived and, not only survived, but for having come through it stronger and more purposeful than ever before. Loved your post.

    Like

Comments are closed.