Visit: What Comes In a Visit

Birds visiting

By +Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—VISIT. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

VISIT

Life can keep us so busy we forget the art of reminding people how important they are. I’ve been thinking about how busy life can get, and wondering. Is this how God intended us to pass our days?

I find myself caught up in getting my house organized, loving my boys well, cleaning, running errands, cooking meals, and writing as time allows. But with all this structure and focus on my to-dos, am I missing out on opportunities to spend time with the important people in my life?

I have a sweet friend who drops by, unannounced on some days. She doesn’t usually stay long, but we always enjoy catching up on each other’s lives and laughing together. Sharing a hug. And you know what? I always feel better after she’s filled some space in my day. Because that is what she’s done. She’s filled me. She’s let me know that I matter to her by giving me some of her time.

I’m blessed by her visits.

Friends visiting

I’ve tried to have that kind of visiting time with the Lord too. Not just sitting, reading the Bible, saying an obligatory prayer and reading a devotion or working on a Bible study and marking it off my list.

Sometimes, I picture Him sitting across from me, sharing a cup of coffee. He does drink coffee, doesn’t He? And Him listening as I pour my thoughts on paper. As I pray for the people He’s placed on my heart. Listening to my struggles, my joys, my heartaches, my laughter.

I love the thought of visiting with Jesus.

Florida sunset 1

On those days when my heart is fully focused on Him, I’m the one who comes away with joy, with a sense of full-ness, knowing that He came to spend time with me. Because I matter to him.  He cherishes me—and each of His children—in ways we can’t understand.

Jesus is always ready for a visit. Have you shared a cuppa joe with Him today?

What about you? How do you show others they matter to you? What do you do to feed your relationship with Jesus?

Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday post: Visit

14 thoughts on “Visit: What Comes In a Visit

  1. I love the thought of having coffee (or tea) with Jesus! I know He cherishes the time we spend with him no matter what we are doing! Thanks for these lovely reminders. And, the reminders for relationships and “visits” with people too. Blessings to you! Visiting from right behind you at Five Minute Friday link up!

    Like

    • Anne, You’re right, Jesus does cherish the time we spend with Him. I’m so thankful He’s patient when I slip up and make other things a higher priority. He has ways of reminding us to be with Him, doesn’t He? 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

  2. So true. I, too, get caught up in “survival mode.” Go here, do this, get that. I forget about nurturing my relationships. Sadly, that also means I forget about nurturing my relationship with God. Thank you for this reminder!

    Like

    • It’s so easy to forget about nurturing relationships when the task lists overwhelm! 😦 May we both spend some time visiting with Jesus in the days to come. Thanks so much for stopping by, Marie!

      Like

  3. I spend time with him every morning, and anytime I go outside and notice something strikingly beautiful. I’m not as good at visiting with people :/. It’s so much easier to just curl up with my book under a warm blanket.

    Like

    • I know, Anita. It’s so easy for me to stop and breathe His beauty in deep. Now to be better about stopping and seeing people as beautiful, like Jesus does. 🙂

      On a cold night like the one we’re having, a book and a blanket sound inviting! 🙂

      Like

  4. Well, the ISP changeover went OK. So far.

    I always enjoyed the old Irish benediction…”May you spend eternity with the Holy Family, beside a lake of beer.”

    I think that would be how I would imagine hanging with Jesus would be…trading good-natured insults and drinking Fosters.

    Then getting into a bar fight…I mean, He could wield a mean whip, right?

    He’s probably rolling His eyes right now.

    Nah. I bet He can hardly wait.

    Like

    • Andrew, I’m glad the ISP changeover seems to be working. Yay! One less thing to be bothered by. Of this I’m certain, He’s always glad to hang out with you. It will be amazing to get to heaven and see what it’s like, and what it is really like to hang out with Jesus. 🙂

      Like

  5. Good thoughts Jeanne. A great coffee table book that touches on this is, “My Heart Christ’s Home” By Robert Boyd Munger, written in 1951. It’s a timeless piece that paints a very compelling visual of a one-on-one relationship with Christ.

    Like

    • What a great book to mention, Gene! I have it, but haven’t read it in years. I need to find it again. You’re right–it’s a perfect visual for growing in a relationship with Jesus. Thanks for adding to the conversation!

      Like

Comments are closed.