Keep: The Choosing

Is 263 copy

By +Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—KEEP. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

KEEP

As I saw our Five Minute Friday prompt, this verse kept coming to mind. There are days (like today) where I’ve longed to know and walk in God’s perfect peace.

On those days when there are more to-do’s than there is day, I feel stress. When I’m on my own with the kids for the week, when unexpected events steal my time—distract me from my plans—these are the days when God’s peace seems far away.

These are also the days when I tend to become more focused on the day than on the Giver of the day. How do I keep my eyes on Him in the midst of crazy? In the midst of sick kids and planning for trips we may not be able to take? In the midst of taking care of car repairs and not getting the things done that weigh on my heart and mind like a wet wool blanket?

frosty morning copy

When the diagnoses come that steal everything else, they don’t have to steal peace, permanently. If I’m trusting God for His best outcome.

I’m learning it’s discipline. It’s choosing.

It’s in the choosing that I can know God’s peace. Choosing to trust Him when life goes haywire. Choosing to believe His word when my days go in directions I never anticipated, and I can hardly breathe for the stress and the busyness of them.

mountain at dusk

When I keep my eyes on Him, when I choose to believe that what God says is absolute truth? That’s when I can know his perfect peace.

This is how I can walk in perfect peace. And I do it very imperfectly this side of heaven. I probably always will.

So, I’ll just continue to practice keeping my mind stayed upon Him.

What about you? What are the peace-stealers in your life? How do you keep your eyes on Jesus when life doesn’t cooperate? 

Visit Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday—Keep.

8 thoughts on “Keep: The Choosing

  1. I have to love when someone writes the words discipline and choice in the same line. I’m learning about the self-discipline involved in choosing Jesus, in choosing joy, in choosing a right attitude, a right mind, in choosing to hope and to live. In choosing to forgive. I hate to admit that doing the right thing is not always my first inclination… but I’m learning. Thank you for these words this morning. Well done!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Janet, I think most of us are in that same boat when it comes to doing the right thing. It’s not always our first inclination, or even desire. But, man there’s such peace in doing it, isn’t there? Here’s to both of us choosing the things of Jesus. Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

  2. Beautiful post, Jeanne.

    There is no peace in my world; I guess I was built for war.

    But there is this; when Jesus seems far away, those I love can find peace behind my back, because I have seen harm and slaughter, and while I live, it will not get past me.

    There is no safer place than hiding behind an Asian warfighter with nothing to lose, and Heaven to gain.

    And I’ll fistbump JC when I see Him.

    Because we’re gonna win.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, how suffocating, when ‘I can hardly breathe for the stress and the busyness’. I truly believe God’s peace is more solid than we can imagine – it’s not a fluffy flimsy greetings-card kinda peace, but the sort that keeps you breathing and pointing in the right direction when everything else is swirling in the wind. May God indeed be your rock and fortress in hard times.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree with you, Ruth. God’s peace is more solid than we can imagine. Rock solid and steadfast. Only sometimes, I choose my own way rather than yielding to His. It’s not that His peace isn’t there, I think it’s more that I don’t choose to embrace it. I love your description. God’s peace is the sort that keeps us breathing, and it points us in the right direction when all is confusion. Love that picture. Thanks so much for stopping by today!

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.