Welcome: Trusting Jesus With My Fears

 

Welcome mat

By +Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—WELCOME. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

WELCOME

Defined as: “to accept with pleasure the occurrence or presence of”

What do you envision when you read or hear the word, “Welcome?”

Coffee scenting the air, a table in sunlight, the promise of fellowship and sharing speaks “Welcome” to me.

Often, that’s what I offer when someone comes to my home. Except maybe there are a few piles on the kitchen counter. And crumbs on the table.

The Lord has welcomed me, and each of us, into a relationship with Him. With sharing, with fellowship. With transparency. With the potential for intimacy.

What do we do after we’ve been welcomed in somewhere? Accept the hospitality? Nibble a muffin? Sip coffee?

Usually.

I’ve been thinking about this today. I’m reading a life-changing book, The Hardest Peace, by Kara Tippetts. Who happens to be dying.

The chapter I just finished got me thinking about the things I worry about. My worries—fears—revolve around my hubby and my boys. Not going into specifics here. 😉

Welcome mugs

The thing I realized is I don’t always welcome Jesus into these worries. I think I can handle them. Or . . . honestly . . . I’m afraid of what He might do with them. Like allow them to become reality.

So ridiculous. Jesus is Good. He’s trustworthy. He’s faithful. And He loves me like crazy.

So, I am thinking about my heart attitude when it comes to these inner fears. He invites me to release them to Him. To trust Him with my family. My heart. My very life.

And the thing is? He is trustworthy. He is faithful. He is good.

But I’ll only be able to know these aspects of His character if I welcome Him into my fears, my worries. I’ll know Him best when I do.

If any of these fears do become reality, I can deal with them then. In the meantime, He’s welcoming me to release them into His care and to simply trust.

What about you? What areas of your life are hard to welcome Jesus into? What do you picture with the word, “Welcome?”

Vist Kate Motaung’s Five Minute Friday offering.

19 thoughts on “Welcome: Trusting Jesus With My Fears

  1. When I think “welcome”, I think, “Glad you’re here, now come lend a hand, there’s work to do.”

    Circumstances have required me to let Jesus run just about everything…however.

    I feel that I can provide a place for Him to rest, where He can “put down” the world He has got in His hands, and rest a spell.

    It’s the least i can do.

    Like

    • I like those kinds of welcome’s. They make me feel included. When I’ve visited some places, I’m sitting in the living room while my host is working in the kitchen, having declined my help. I would much rather be included in the work. 🙂

      I like the idea of being a place where Jesus can rest within us. Beautiful picture, Andrew. 🙂

      Like

  2. When I think of the word ‘welcome’, I think of arms wide open. I see someone being open whether that is letting you into their home or into their life. There are many areas that I too need to let God into and sometimes it’s hard because I really don’t want to lose control but that is a whole part of having faith. Visiting from #fmfparty

    Like

    • Trisha, I love your word picture of ‘welcome.’ And you’re right. Sometimes welcoming goes beyond into our homes and into our lives. Yes, that whole having faith “thing.” 🙂 It’s a constant walk, and one I suspect I’ll be learning and practicing step by step until I make it to heaven. 🙂

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

  3. I, too, fall into that “I don’t want to welcome God into my worries because, well, what if I don’t like what he wants?” category. Here’s to making sure we welcome him into every aspect of our lives!

    Like

  4. If worry comes calling on me, my first instinct is to quote Scripture to it: Ps 138:8 He will perfect that which concerns me. Trusting Him I go on to the “next thing”. :))

    Like

  5. Jeanne… I really loved this post. I can relate in so many ways! I hope to welcome Him into my worries too. Release and trust. So hard but the only way to live free. Thank you for such a wonderful post.

    Like

  6. Loved your post (as always). I now think of welcome as arms wide open to ‘whatever’: good and bad, everything teaches you something. I love my new perspective on welcome. [Hoping you had a lovely Christmas and wishing you all the best for 2015!]

    Like

Comments are closed.