Fun: 20 Questions

Autumn Brilliance

By +Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

This new game has given those of us who are playing a fun way to get to know each other. And now I am inviting you to play, too!

What is the game?  Answer as many of the questions below as you want. Fun answers are definitely permitted, serious ones allowed, and cornier than ever ones preferred. Ready to get started?

First, I must credit my friends Shelli Littleton and Mary Vee for tagging me in this game which started this round.

1. How tall are you? 

5’ 7 1/2”. People love to ask me to reach thing for them. However, since hubby and I are the same height, I seldom those fun heels that are so popular now. I guess my legs will thank me as I grow older.

2. Do you have a hidden talent?

Yes. I’m good at purging (stuff from my home, not the other kind of purging). My mom dreads when I come over to my parents’ house with a trash bag in hand. Actually I only purge other people’s stuff when I have permission. But, I love uncluttered spaces.

3. What’s your biggest blogger pet-peeve?

I’ll have to go with what a friend shared: Spam comments.

4. What’s your biggest non blogger pet-peeve?

When people don’t keep their word after saying they’ll do something. I understand when things come up, but it needs to be communicated. When I’m counting on someone to do something they said they’d do and then they don’t? It leaves a bad taste in my mouth.

5. What’s your favorite song?

I have many! One of my childhood faves was, “Leader of the Pack,”  by the Shangri-La’s. Right now, I loveOceans,” by Hillsong. This song always puts me in a place of worship. Anything by Third Day lifts my spirit and points my eyes to Jesus.  And, “Live Like You Were Dying,” by Tim McGraw. I love the message of this song of living each moment fully.

6. What’s your favorite Etsy shop that isn’t yours?

I have actually never shopped Easy! I am afraid of an addiction forming if I were to find too many great things to buy. 🙂

Summer day

7. What is your favorite way to spend time when you are alone?

I would have to add to this question: What is your favorite time to spend time when you are alone and have time to spend the way you want? I have alone time each day, and it’s usually taken up with tasks around the house and writing. When I have time to claim for whatever I want to do I would spend it walking in nature with my camera, or I would scrapbook. I love creating fun pages to record our family’s memories.

8. What is your favorite junk food?

Hard to narrow down on one. I will pick Junior Mints.

9. Do you have a pet/s? If so, what kind and what are their names?

No pets. But, if my boys have their way, we’ll be adding a bearded dragon and a large dog to our family. At some point in time.

10. What are your #1 favorite fiction and non-fiction books?

Only ONE for each category?! Such an unfair question.

Fiction: The Wedding Dress, by Rachel Hauck

Non-fiction: My Utmost For His Highest, by Oswald Chambers

11. What is your favorite beauty product?

I don’t really have a favorite. I have specific lines of beauty products I use and a specific hairspray I never travel without though.

12. When were you last embarrassed? What happened?

Hmmmm, not sure this qualifies, but I’ll share it. I had plans to walk with friends this morning. I got to the house where I’ve met them in the past. And no one was there. I was late, so this surprised me. I texted one of them and asked, “We’re meeting at ________’s house, right?” And then I read the texts from yesterday. It was at my other friend’s house. When said friend read the text, they both got a good laugh. I chalked it up to a blonde moment (Yes, I was blonde, once).

Frosty morning

13. If you could drink one beverage (besides water) for the rest of your life, what would it be?

If my body would tolerate it, I would have to say pumpkin spice lattés. Love the things, I just can’t have them very often.

14. What is your favorite movie?

Another tough question! I’ll have to say, Beauty and the Beast, Disney’s award winning animation. I love how Belle sees beyond the Beast to the prince beneath. Sometimes I need to take the time to look beyond the gruff exterior of someone to see the tender soul beneath.

15. What were you in high school: prom queen, nerd, cheerleader, jock, valedictorian, band geek, loner, artist, prep?

A prep. I always found myself on the fringes of the popular crowd, but I was most comfortable in the role of someone who found friends in most groups rather than just one.

Mountain in autumn

16. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you live?

Right where I am. I love Colorado, it’s mountains, four seasons and the year-round beauty.

17. PC or Mac?

Mac. I got mine two years ago, and I love it. Haven’t had the issues with viruses I was having with my PC’s.

18. Last romantic gesture from a crush, date, boy/girlfriend, spouse?

My hubby asked me (rather than me asking him) for an in-home movie night. We made popcorn, watched a movie and then talked about it afterward. Great time of connecting with each other.

19.  Favorite celebrity?

Harrison Ford, Ed Harris, Ben Affleck, Amy Adams and Scarlett Johanssen

20. What blogger do you secretly want to be friends with?

Ann Voskamp. Her posts hit me at a soul-deep level that challenge me to go deeper with God and to fully live life in each moment.

What about you? Be brave! Pick as many of the questions above and share your answer. 

***In case you’re wondering about the pictures, these are some of my favorites from this fall.***

11 thoughts on “Fun: 20 Questions

  1. Yay, Jeanne!! I love it! Nothing surprised me. I think I know you! 🙂 And I love that a Disney movie is your favorite, like mine … I love Peter Pan. When Captain Hook goes shooting out of the crocodile’s mouth and the movie plays the music “eep eep eep eep” … I laugh myself silly. The girls will rewind it over and over so we can continue the laughter.

    You are great!

    Like

    • Shelli, I’ve enjoyed getting to know you too. I’ve got other movie faves, but Beauty and the Beast ranks up as my all time favorite movies. I haven’t watched Peter Pan in YEARS. I’ll have to get that one and see your favorite scene. 🙂

      Like

  2. My “20” will come out this weekend. It’s fun!

    For my most embarrassing moment, you’ll have to read my blog on Sunday, but for the second-most-embarrassing…

    My hearing is not the best, and I sometimes get song lyrics wrong. I once told Barb I really liked the “Golden Retriever” song that’s been getting a lot of Christian airplay.

    Barbara – “Uh…what?”

    Me – “You know, the one that goes, Take me to the ocean, I want to go deeper…I’m a Golden Retriever…”

    It made perfect sense to me, because that’s what Goldens DO!

    Runner up in that category…Barbara was watching a Billy Graham ‘crusade classic’, and I walked by and said, “Boy, he sure doesn’t LOOK 90 years old.”

    No, duh?

    Like

  3. I am 5′ 11″. Strangers will ask me, “How tall are you?” Like I’m some sort of freak. (Would they ask an overweight person how much they weigh?) School was rough. Bullies would call me Lew Al (Lew Alcindor was big in those days with the Milwaukee Bucks, before he became Kareem Abdul-Jabbar.) Even today, when I’m photographed with others, my knees are bent.

    Like

Comments are closed.