Five Minute Friday scribblings, Mothering, Relationship

Hold: Who Holds You?

 

Mom Son hands

By +Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—Hold. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

HOLD

“I need some cuddle time, Mom.” My ten year old told me just yesterday.

“Cuddle time” looks like a ten year old frame cuddling on my lap curled into a ball with my arms wrapped around him.

It’s one of my favorite things to do: to hold my boys. There’s something so intimate and vulnerable in those times. Of course, we usually end up in a tickle fest. But those brief moments, where they’re still…where we’re still.

The world swirls on, it’s busy frenzy all around us. But those few minutes…we’re still with each other.

I know these cuddle times are limited. My guys are ten and eleven after all.

And when they stop asking for cuddle time? I’ll have to hold them more loosely. As they head into the scary, uncharted waters of the teen years? Where temptations and peer pressure try to mold them into something they were never designed to be?

Then I’ll have to trust that my Father holds them, and knows them, and cuddles them in the perfect ways they need.

Backpacks

It about breaks my heat to think of a day when they no longer come rushing into the house after school, wrap their arms around me and say, “Mama, guess what?”

I like being held by them too. Those boy-arms, all spindly and skinny? They have strength to squeeze he breath right out of me and the love right into me.

When that day comes where they don’t run through the door anymore, I’ll trust that my Father-God holds these boys He gave my us to raise for a short time.

He’ll hold them when I’m too far away.

He’ll hold them when they get into trouble and see no way out of it.

Trusting God will hold me too. Each and every day.

What about you? What causes you to feel loved? What or who holds you?

Kate Motaung Five Minute Friday—Hold

12 thoughts on “Hold: Who Holds You?”

  1. What a perfect post. My daughter is 12 and after a long night of algebra, she jumped on the couch beside, molded herself into me and said “Cuddle me”….there’s just nothing like it. To be a mom. To get to hold them – with arms and hearts and faith. Thank you so much for sharing your boys and your heart. Happy Friday!

    Like

  2. Jeanne, this is a tough one!

    Things are kind of closing in, and I am finding that to survive each day I have to be very hard, body and soul. It allows me to be harsh with myself, and keep pushing past where I think I can go – so I have the confidence that I’ll make it through tomorrow, because tomorrow will be worse.

    I want to live, and will do what it takes to achieve that.

    It bothers Barbara. last week I nearly took a finger off while slicing a bagel, and she was really upset that I was laughing about it. The knife stuck in the bone, and to me it was kind of funny. She wanted to be sympathetic, and felt that I was pushing her away.

    I wasn’t, but I can see her point – she thought I didn’t want to be loved.

    It goes beyond that, to the appearance that I can’t give love. I’m hard on myself, and there is some ‘leakage’; I come across as not a nice person to be around because I seem generally unsympathetic.

    As Henry Lee said, “who would survive must learn a savage tongue”. It’s all too true

    I think God braces me, rather than holds me. He makes me feel loved by kicking me back to my feet when I fall, and making me get up when I’d rather rest.

    He may not be the God I want – but He’s the God I need now.

    Like

    1. I can see how it must be difficult to be hard for your own sake and yet sympathetic for others’ sake. Those are two very different mindsets.

      As a woman, I can totally relate Barbara’s response after you cut your finger last week. 🙂 We women care about those around us, and it hurts to have it seemingly rejected.

      You show yet again, that God responds to each of us uniquely—how He braces you, but He holds me. He knows what we each need. Thanks for the food for thought, Andrew!

      Like

  3. This is so beautiful! I’m not a mother yet, but I long to have boys to hold and love and to whom I may show my Father. Thank you for sharing! It warms me with anticipation and hope. 🙂

    Like

    1. Mothering boys is the richest, and by far most difficult thing I’ve ever done. But, I wouldn’t trade it for anything. 🙂 And I will say, Boys LOVE their mamas. 🙂 Thanks for your encouraging words.

      Like

  4. I was just holding Josiah in church today. The only place he lets me… because he’s bored 🙂 So fast the moments pass. But I love that encouragement… God holds them. He has them.

    Like

Comments are closed.