Ready: Who Makes Us Ready?

Baby toes 2 copy

By +Jeanne Takenaka @JeanneTakenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—Ready. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out our hostess, Kate Motaung’s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

READY

I was ready.

I knew in the depths of my heart that I was ready to be a mother.

But my body contradicted my desires. Month after month yielded nothing in the way of family.

Sometimes what I think I’m ready for and what God knows I’m ready for are two different things. I may have thought I was ready for motherhood. And I may have been . . . on my terms.

As it turned out, the Lord had hubby and me wait for another five years before granting us the gift of parenthood—via adoption.

He knew when my husband was ready even to take that step. And it was years later than when I thought I was ready. When our hearts united in this desire, God gave it.

Sunny-shady path

And oh, it’s been such a different ride than I ever anticipated. I haven’t been ready to deal with some of the issues children who are adopted walk through.

But God . . .

God has to prepare us—to make us ready—to walk the paths He’s ordained for us.

And, I’ve not found this “ready-ing” to be an easy thing. I’ve had to die to myself—my desires, my agenda—to learn to live the way God knows I must. To be the mom He wants me to be for our amazing boys.

Sometimes being ready comes in stages and via walking through difficult seasons.

Sometimes, we’re never quite ready for what the Lord allows into our lives. But, when we lean into Him, He equips us to walk those paths, holding His hand. Or sometimes fighting Him all the way.

When I’m most ready to walk in His paths, I find joy in the heartache, and reassurance in the dark days. And I find He’s walking with me through it all, readying me for the next step of the journey.

What about you? When have you thought you were ready for something and God withheld it from you? When have you seen God readying you for a new chapter in your life?

Kate Motaung FMF: Ready

***I’m guest posting over at Let’s Talk today. I’d love it if you stopped by!***

18 thoughts on “Ready: Who Makes Us Ready?

    • Valerie, thanks for the kind words. We’re never as ready as we think we are to be a parent. 🙂 And I love your thought: it’s not about us knowing we are ready. It’s about trusting God to make us ready. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

  1. When I went to my first conference four years ago, I thought I was ready to be a published author. Nope. Still waiting. I can see that I wasn’t ready then. As conference approaches now, I wonder, am I ready now?

    Like

    • Terri, isn’t it interesting how we have more perspective a few years down the road? We may be ready for something on a certain level, but God…..

      It will be fun to see when God knows each of us is ready for publication. 🙂

      Like

  2. I agree – readying can be so hard sometimes. God is readying me for a new chapter – which means letting go of the one before it. It’s wrought with uncertainty and moments of downright fear. And again, I agree, leaning into Him – leaning into grace – always seems to ease the blow of any perfectly ordained “surprises” He tosses our way. I joined Five Minute Friday on a whisper to be brave – so happy to have met you here.

    Like

    • You’re right, sometimes the ready-ing process requires us to let go of the familiar so we can embrace the new. And it’s hard. I hope, as God readies you for your new chapter, that you’ll know His peace and His grace as you walk it out. I love your picture of “ordained surprises.” 🙂 I’m so glad to have met you too!

      Like

  3. Jeanne- THIS is just the message I need today. Thank you for sharing what you’ve learned of God through your adoption journey. This part was my favorite: “And, I’ve not found this “ready-ing” to be an easy thing. I’ve had to die to myself—my desires, my agenda—to learn to live the way God knows I must.” Such beautiful truth here. Loved it!

    Like

  4. I’m in the midst of this – things are not going according to plan!! I feel so ready and yet am having to learn to rest in this period of waiting. Thank you, as always, for your words!

    Like

    • Annie, being in the midst of “ready-ing” can be a challenging place to rest. It’s a lesson I keep having to learn (yeah, being still? Not one of my strengths!). I hope this season of waiting is filled with God’s peace. 🙂

      Like

  5. After seeing various parts of my life and health fall apart over the last few years…if I thought God was allowing it, I’d be furious with Him. Enough’s enough, and was a long time ago. If there was a lesson to be learned, I’m past that.

    But I don’t think He works that way. I believe that He’s just as upset as I am, and that what He’s offering is His shoulder upon which I can lean and catch my breath, and His wisdom in the form of insights that come in the still watches of the night.

    He created a world in which we can choose Him, or reject Him, and the disasters that have come my way are a function of that world’s internal consistency. For Him to either withhold…or grant…would nullify the whole purpose of free will.

    Last night I watched a retrospective on 9/11, and thought of the people trapped in the Towers, and choosing to jump to their deaths to escape the flames. I can’t believe that God allowed it, beyond having to accept it as part of the price of our being able to become Citizens of Heaven though our own free choice.

    Like

    • Andrew, I love that we have a God who can and does empathize with us in every situation we walk through. I love your picture of Him offering you His shoulder to lean on and catch your breath. Such a beautiful picture of rest and trust. Your thoughts on free will make perfect sense. I’ve often considered this aspect of our relationship with Him, and I realize how much I don’t fully understand about God and His ways. Your perspective helps broaden my understanding. Again. 🙂 Thank you.

      Like

    • Tanya, trusting God with the decisions and for His timing to be worked out in our lives regarding children was a sometimes agonizing process. 🙂 I came to the point that, even if He never allowed us to be parents, I would still love Him first. It was after giving up my hopes that I was able to fully accept all He had for my husband and me. In our case, it included the addition of two boys. 🙂

      Thank you so much for stopping by!

      Like

  6. Thanks for sharing your story of waiting for God to be ready to give the gifts you’d been ready for a long time. I seem to also find myself in places I never thought I was ready for – like parenting twins or public speaking – and God shows up, proving He was “readying” me all along. I am glad for a God we can rest in during the waiting, regardless of what side of “ready” I find myself in any given moment for a myriad of pursuits.

    Like

    • Heather, I love your thoughts here. I do think God takes us to places we never expected to be. And, He shows us He’s readied us, but we still have to lean hard on Him, don’t we? I loved this: “I am glad for a God we can rest in during the waiting, regardless of what side of “ready” I find myself in any given moment for a myriad of pursuits.” I’m with you! So thankful we have a God we can rest in no matter where we are. 🙂

      Like

  7. Jeanne, your words, “when we lean into Him, He equips us to walk those paths” speak to my heart today. Thank you for this reminder to focus on His strength instead of our weaknesses.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

    • Wendy, I’m glad God used this post to encourage you! It’s challenging to focus on His strength sometimes, especially when our weaknesses seem so pronounced. I’m praying for you tonight that You’ll see Him working mightily in and around you. May He fill in your gaps!

      Like

Comments are closed.