Five Minute Friday scribblings, Identity, Rejection, Uncategorized

Belong: Belonging to God

Holding Hands 2

By Jeanne Takenaka

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—Belong. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out Lisa-Jo Baker‘s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

Rejection was my first identity marker when I was a girl. Attending a small elementary school where the kids had known each other since long before I was added to the roster was difficult. As I grew older, I made friends—good friends—but the lie had been planted. I was never truly going to belong anywhere, in any group of people. I’ve struggled with wondering if/when I would do something that would cause others to stop letting me belong in the friendship, in the group. God has had to speak his truth into that aspect of my life.

Some days I still struggle with a sense of belonging. Yet God in his goodness has gifted me with an amazing husband who loves me through my pretty days and my ugly days. He’s added to our lives two amazing boys to whom I belong. Our family is the perfect place for me to belong. Here, I have learned what that acceptance feels like.

Boys n me 7-4

The interesting thing is: I’ve belonged to God’s family since I was fourteen. Yet, I walked through years of doubting it. That lie of rejection runs deep, it’s roots entwined throughout my heart. A little at a time, God has pulled those roots out, and replaced them with the truth that I belong to Him.

He loves me passionately, perfectly, completely. I will always belong to him. I never have to worry about if He will stop accepting or loving me. I am His. And He is mine. Oh Joy!

Each one of us belong to Him. There is nothing we can do that will cause Him to stop loving us. He’s just faithful that way.

What about you? Do you have a place in life where  you belong? How well do you receive it? Do you believe it’s God’s gift for you?

Crystal Stine is the guest hostess for Five Minute Friday this week.

8 thoughts on “Belong: Belonging to God”

  1. oh, this is heartbreakingly beautiful, Jeanne. i always watched new kids come in and try to belong…and yet, in my own hometown with ready-made friends, i never felt like i did, either. such a lie of the soul, such a sweet whisper of truth in your message from god. isn’t it funny how, if we’re all just being honest, we all feel it and roots grow deep. thank you for sharing. stopping by from 5mf. i was your “after”. 🙂

    Like

  2. Jeanne … I love this. I usually tell my daughter that I feel like God allows us to feel that “I don’t belong” feeling so that we won’t get too comfortable. If I always felt I belonged … I would never be teaching children’s Sunday school. I’m always uncomfortable in a regular class. And because we have moved many times … I know that feeling of not belonging. But God also gives us a desire to reach out to others to ensure they feel they belong. You did that for me. Jennifer Major is so good at that, too. I always feel like I can’t reach out to other writers because they are so far along in the journey than I am. I don’t feel confident enough to do that. It blesses my heart when someone opens their arms and allows me in. Thank you for allowing me in your writing group and arms. I am blessed by you.

    Like

    1. Shelli, I love the glimpse you gave into your heart here. You are a wise mom. It does seem to take a feeling of being uncomfortable to get our eyes off ourselves and onto Jesus and others.

      Jennifer is AMAZING at reaching out to others. I guess we both need to be careful not to give into the lie that we can’t reach out to others because we’re not __________ (fill in the blank). You have much you offer in your comments and the wisdom you have. Thanks so much for stopping by, Shelli!

      Like

  3. I love these thoughts, my friend. This week I’ve been reminded of Rich Mullins and His music. (How did I forget about those?! Oh yeah…life…motherhood…ER visits…)

    But this week I’ve been blessed with remembering the sweetness of his music. Especially this one, which says to my heart: “And the Holy King of Israel loves me here….in America.”

    I think we ALL need that tender reminder.

    Hugs, dear one!

    Like

  4. Jeanne, the picture of you and your boys is wonderful. I feel the most sense of belonging at our dinner table. Our family of five jokes around a lot. Both my husband and I do not have memories of laughter from our own childhood mealtimes. I love how God has blessed our family with joy.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

    1. I love our times at the dinner table too, Wendy. It sounds like you and your husband are intentional in bringing laughter and joy to your children. What a legacy you’re leaving them. 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.