Uncategorized

Five Minute Friday: Exhale

By Jeanne Takenaka

***Sorry there aren’t images in the post. WordPress changed their format and I have not figured it out yet. 🙂

My Five Minute Friday prompt this week is—Exhale. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. I write for five minutes on a given topic. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out Lisa-Jo Baker‘s site. Or, click on the link at the bottom of this post. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

You know those seasons in life, where the to-do’s pile up to the point where you can’t breathe?

Well, I had a month of that. Last month, in fact. My hubby had to be gone on business for most of the month.

God is always faithful. He provides what I need in those seasons, but life just doesn’t stop. Dinners to cook, boys to get to appointments or playdates or summer camps, laundry calling my name.

The load was on me.

I have told people to Just. Breathe.

How hard it is to do that when life piles its obligations on me?

When Hubby got home from his trip, I literally felt the burden lift from my body.

We’re not meant to carry the entire load ourselves. When we try to, we can’t truly exhale. We take on the tyranny of the urgent, but forget to exhale the prayer for help. We forget to ask for one more breath.

Sometimes, when the loads of life pile on high, I need to just be still, exhale and look to Jesus.

It’s only when I focus my eyes on Him that I can truly exhale the burdens of my day, the ups and downs of motherhood and the unexpected happenings that try to keep me overwhelmed.

Exhale.

Let Jesus fill us with the peace of His presence. This is the trick to get through the crazy times of life.

Exhale. Breathe in His peace and savor it, like a breath after a rain fall freshens the air around.

Exhale. Trust him to provide what we need.

Exhale. And breathe in deep the truth that He loves us.

What about you? How do you exhale and inhale when life gets a little crazy?

Lisa-Jo Baker: Exhale

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Exhale”

  1. Jeanne, I especially love these words that you wrote, “It’s only when I focus my eyes on Him that I can truly exhale the burdens of my day” –Amen.

    Blessings on your long weekend ~ Wendy ❀

    Like

  2. Jeanne, you often seem to write about what I’m thinking about. And you put it so well! I’ve been forgetting to breathe. And isn’t the Hebrew word for breath and spirit the same word? Ruaha? I don’t know how to spell it. Anyway, I’m memorizing scripture when I realize I’m not focused correctly — not breathing the spirit.
    Thank you for this post.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the confirmation. I love when God speaks to us right where we are, don’t you? I hope this weekend is one that allows you to just breathe. Exhale, inhale. I need to be more disciplined in memorizing God’s word. Thanks for that reminder!I’m so grateful for your encouragements!

      Like

  3. I don’t worry about it. Literally hurts to breathe, but breathing is necessary.

    One foot in front of the other, and the moments and tasks pass. Don’t know where God isright now. Doesn’t matter that I don’t.Long as He knows where I am.

    Like

    1. Andrew, yes, breathing is necessary. We keep doing it until God decides we’re done. I’m still praying for you. What a good reminder—as long as we know God knows where we are, that’s the most important thing. I hope He gives you glimpses of what He’s doing in your situation. Lean hard on Him.

      Like

  4. Great post! So true. Sometimes an onslaught can come outa the blue~ maybe outa the black is more like it. And yes the only solution is to Breathe in His Presence attained by sitting quietly with Him in His Word. It will wash away the weight of any burdens. Wait for Him and set urgency aside for the moments with Him. Take time.

    Like

Comments are closed.