Five Minute Friday: Hands

This week’s Five Minute Friday post topic is—Hands. This largely unedited “rough draft” form of writing stretches this perfectionist, in the best of ways. If you’re interested in learning more about 5-Minute Fridays, check out Lisa-Jo Baker‘s site. As you read my simpler Friday posts, I hope you’ll join in the conversation!

Hands

By Jeanne Takenaka

Image

I take my hands for granted. They clean. They cut vegetables, tend to gardens, hold the water container to pour life onto my container garden. My hands comb out the knots in my hair, wash my face, and wipe children’s tears away.

My hands stroke the heads of my “babies” ( now 9 1/2 and 11) when they’ve had a difficult day. They comb through hair, rub backs, cuddle close these boy-men when they are on the boy side of manhood.

Hands . . . I can’t imagine life without them. They type on my computer, pouring words onto the page. Hopefully bringing encouragement to those who read them. They hold the camera to capture scenes and smiles on the spur of a moment.

What about God’s hands? His hands move planets, craft new life. His hands move in my life, in the lives of all who know Him. They give rain in due season, move the sun and moon at appropriate times. They do big, important life-essential things for his small creations on planet earth. Even when He’s not acknowledged, He continues to provide all we need for life.

His hands give comfort to His children. They wipe my tears away, sew up the wounds on my heart inflicted by others. His hands hold me in the crook of His arms, cradle me on His lap when I’m in need of a cuddle, of comfort.

Image

My prayer is that my hands will emulate what His hands do—bringing life to those in my circle. Bringing comfort and encouragement and service, whether or not others acknowledge it.

What about you? What are you thankful your hands can do? How have others’ hands blessed you?

Lisa-Jo Baker’s Five Minute Friday

9 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Hands

  1. Love the imagery of this line: “They comb through hair, rub backs, cuddle close these boy-men when they are on the boy side of manhood.” As a mother of two boys about that age myself, it reminded me how much I take the wonderful things these 10 fingers can do for granted. Good stuff today! 🙂

    Like

  2. In some respects, many respects, I’m grateful for my hands.

    But there was a war along the way, and there are times that I feel a bit like Macbeth…this hand will rather the multitudinous seas incarnadine, making the green one red.

    I only hope that the good outweighs the sorrow.

    Like

  3. Indeed, not my hands but God’s. He calls me to be His hands. Let me remember that as I use my hands. Touching softly, gently, lovingly everything. An ideal. Gripping hard, determinedly, to every truth. Hmmmm

    Like

Comments are closed.