Stillness: 5 Benefits of Forced Stillness

Image

Being in a place of forced stillness this week, I’m meditating on what can be gained through this “season.”

I would rather be busy about my life, moving and shaking through my days, accomplishing much. But, God has me in a place of forced stillness. So, I will choose to embrace it, to lean into the Lord and to live in the now. Not in the “must do’s.”

Being still doesn’t necessarily mean sitting around all day, soaking in the sunshine. A person can have an internal stillness while being externally purposeful.

Image

These are 5 benefits that come from being still:

1. Being still strengthens the spirit, and increases my trust in God. It gives me a keener receptivity to what’s going on around me.

2. As I reduce my busy pace, my spirit is also taking it slow, savoring the quiet. I’m leaning into Jesus a little more. This creates a greater sense of peace within.

3. I can still be purposeful. I can pray for others. I’m looking at what’s going on in the lives of loved ones and seeing if there’s some way I can encourage them.

4. I can open my heart to listen—really listen—to what God is speaking to me. I rarely hear His voice audibly, but I do hear His words within my heart. If I am still enough to listen.

5. I am cherishing those who are closest to me. Slowing my own mind and heart to listen to what’s on theirs.

What about you? When have you been in a season of forced stillness? How do you encourage stillness in your life?

8 thoughts on “Stillness: 5 Benefits of Forced Stillness

  1. Sure, and wasn’t I trained in enforced stillness as a long rifleman?

    The job required both stillness and focus, and the best way to combine the two was through prayer. Kind of incongruous.

    What was needed was a clear understanding of what both brain and body were doing. One had to keep one’s adrenalin at a sustainable level, neither heightened to nervousness nor sinking to lethargy.

    Mentally, focus and receptiveness were required. Focus through the long and often uncomfortable hours, and receptiveness that would recognize, analyze, and adapt to changing situations. Prayer was the best way to achieve that. Open-eyed, ‘aware’ prayer.

    Well, there’s your weird comment for the month, Jeanne…

    Liked by 1 person

    • Andrew, you made me smile. It’s not a weird comment. You, better than most, know what forced stillness requires and offers. I love how you brought out prayer in the midst of your times of forced stillness. It’s definitely a key factor in those times when we are in a place of forced stillness.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Stillness. In this fast paced world, the word scares people. Who has time to be still? Just this week there has been opportunity to be still and reflect on what Jesus did for me on the cross. That time of stillness humbled me. He did it all for me. And you. If there was only one person, He would do it for him. How great is our God. The guidance from Him is there. We just have to sit still long enough to hear it. Turn off the radio in the car. Take time in the wee morning hours to read my bible and listen to what He wants to tell me.
    Thanks for the post.
    I love your photos. I hope you have a blessed day.
    Warmly, Gail

    Like

    • Gail, you’re right. When we choose stillness, and we reflect on things outside our hurry-scurry days, we can come to a place of humility. Especially when we can see beyond ourselves. I like your examples of how to practice stillness in our daily lives. Thanks for sharing those!

      Like

  3. Jeanne, this is beautiful. Stillness … when I lie down each night, it’s always time to be still before God, talk to Him … and inevitably He responds … and I have to get up and go get my notepad that I forgot to leave by the bed, and write down what He told my heart. If I don’t write it down, I’ll inevitably forget it! Sometimes I text myself, if I just don’t have the strength to get back up, as not to forget!

    Like

    • Shelli, like you, I have those moments, just before dropping into dreamland where the Lord speaks to me. I like your idea of leaving a notebook by your bedside to write down the thoughts God shares with you. Or texting it to yourself. My favorite verse to pray at night as I settle myself for sleep is Psalm 46:10: “Be still and know that I am God.”

      Like

  4. Stillness. In the quiet times my soul can sink into the deep place, Deep calls to deep stillness of early morning with God. Humbling time. Receiving time. Discovering more about Who He is and who I am in my relationship with Him.

    Like

Comments are closed.