Affirmation: Five Truths From The Lego Movie

Image

Being the mother of Lego-lovin’ boys, it’s a given that we would see The Lego Movie. There were so many truths woven into the storyline.

Though the overriding theme of the story is that everyone is special, one of my favorite sub-themes was the importance of affirmation. Emmet, the main character is just another Lego construction guy.

Get a glimpse of Emmet in this short clip:

He’s just an average guy, following the instructions laid out for him—for living daily life, for working, for social relationships. He hopes he’s doing everything right.

When Emmet’s thrown into a world where there are no instructions, he gets in trouble and is captured by Bad Cop. During his interrogation, he refers to his “friends,” certain they can help clarify his character. What he discovers is the people he thought he meant something to don’t remember him. Or, if they do, they have mean things to say about him and his lack of creativity.

Image

Viewing himself as others see him opens Emmet’s eyes, and causes him to feel utterly insignificant. He’s called, “The Special,” but he feels like anything but special in light of what everyone says about and to him.

Throughout the movie, those gifted with extraordinary skill to build amazing structures look down on Emmett for his lack of ability in this area.

Honestly, my heart went out to poor Emmet. The guy was working with the skill set he’d been given. And, it wasn’t fabulous, according to most people. It wasn’t enough, in their eyes, to accomplish what needed to be done. Yet, Emmet was the one with the big heart. He was the one who made sacrifices at just the right moment.

A few truths I took away from Emmett’s character in The Lego Movie:

  1. I can look around me and see those worth affirming. They may not be movie stars, first responders or naturally heroic. But everyone, everyone has some attribute worth affirming.
  2. Be slow to judge others’ perceived lack of skill. Each person has strengths, passions and character qualities that make them special.
  3. Being affirmed can build confidence. When Emmett was affirmed, it sparked his confidence to do more than anyone thought him capable of. On the flip side, another character, who was never affirmed, took bad to a new level.
  4. It’s never too late to share an affirmation with someone. Even after mistakes have been made, there’s room for building another up.
  5. This last one is more a reminder than a specific lesson from the movie. Each person has worth, because we are all created in the image of God. If I will open my eyes to see another’s worth, I can help that person grow.

If I can look beyond what I think should be valued and see the intrinsic value God placed in others, I can become an encourager for them.

What about you? What affect does affirmation have on you? What are some ways you affirm others?

19 thoughts on “Affirmation: Five Truths From The Lego Movie

  1. Awwww, this is SO TRUE!!!

    Occasionally, I allow myself to listen to old, dried up words. Then warm, healthy affirming words come along and I think, yeah, God paints His love for us with His own words, and the words of those who see us better than we see ourselves.

    Great post, Jeanne!

    Like

    • Those old dried up words are like poison sometimes. Best not to listen or swallow what they’re peddling. I love that God’s words for us are always truthfully affirming. Even though they’re not always easy to hear at first. 🙂

      Thanks so much for stopping by, Jennifer!

      Like

    • If you see it, I hope you’ll enjoy it. It’s fun, and quirky, but I can’t tell you why (or I’d spoil it). 🙂

      That thought surprised me, too. But, it’s true isn’t it? It’s never too late….. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by friend. 🙂

      Like

  2. One area in which I think a lot of us miss the chance to give affirmation is in our marriages. Perhaps it’s because we’re so familiar with our spouses – but while criticism is freely given, affirmation is more rare.

    And it means so much, coming from the person who knows you best!

    I think affirmation starts with interest – to be genuinely interested in what one’s mate is doing, and to take the time to understand it. Affirmation – and her lovely sister, encouragement – can then speak freely.

    Like

    • Andrew, you are so right about the importance of affirmation in our marriages. And I loved what you said: Affirmation starts with interest. It’s when we take the time to be interested in our spouse that we understand and speak into their lives. Affirmation and encouragement—lovely sisters together.

      As always, I always appreciate your perspective. 🙂

      Like

  3. Jeanne, I love this – thanks for summing up the truths about affirming others. I agree, it’s easy to make assumptions about others’ lack of skills and miss the qualities they are strong in.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Amazing Lego storyline | I Love Movies and Books

  5. Great post about a wonderful movie. I think words of affirmation are so important for moms. We do a lot and sometimes it feels a bit mundane. There’s a certain element of competition and judgment that pervades the mom community, too. A word of affirmation or encouragement carries me a long way in this ultra marathon of motherhood. Sing it with me: “Everything is awesome…”

    Like

    • Heidi, you are so right. Whether the competition is real or only appears as comparisons in my thoughts, they can be difficult to deal with. Words of affirmation always renew my perspective. And yes, mothering is a marathon, isn’t it? 🙂
      Now, that song’s back in my head. Maybe that’s a good thing.
      I appreciate you stopping by!

      Like

Comments are closed.