Mothering, Perspective, Pespective Four Thoughts on Finding Beauty in Stormy relationships, Relationship

Perspective: Four Thoughts on Finding Beauty in Stormy Relationships

Image

It was one of those mornings. One kid woke up stormy, lightning and thunder flashing through back talk and attitude. When things didn’t go his way, we all paid for it as his words rained down stinging with their touch. We all, each of us, left the house unsettled and ugly.

Just get them to school. That was my goal.

Then I could go home, spend some time with Jesus and dry the ugly of the morning off. On the drive to school, God surprised me with a beautiful view of the nearby mountains, the tallest of which had a beanie of clouds covering its top.

The other mountains, with red rocks, green and brown evergreens, covered with snow stopped my heart with their beauty. Stark. Colorful.

Floater clouds settled in low on the range, adding to the morning’s scenery. Just drinking in that beauty dissipated some of the storm churning in my spirit.

As soon as I dropped kids off at school, with an “I love you,” especially to the stormy one, I searched for a place to pull over and attempt and capture the beauty with my phone’s camera.

My reminder that God reveals beauty—even when storms are brewing as they were over the mountains that morning.

Storms are going to come . . . in hearts, in lives, and yes in the weather.

Image

When they do, I can either focus on the storm, the hurt and pain, the sometimes devastation—

Or I can look for the beauty in the midst of the storm.

Image

Clouds are already settling in, and a snow storm is predicted for tomorrow for us.

Image

Image

Our home can remain stormy when two hurricane boys push through the door at the end of a school day. Or I can be a change-maker and sprinkle beauty within our family relationships.

Image

Things I’m learning to help rekindle beauty within our family relationships:

  1. Ask for forgiveness for my role in the storm
  2. Talk with the boy about what we can do to help him make better choices in the mornings,
  3. Pray for and with that boy
  4. Be purposeful about looking for beauty in my sons, as well as in our lives. And remember, God has made all things beautiful in His time.

Including stormy boys and moms.

What about you? Where do you find beauty when your spirit is stormy? What is beautiful to you?

10 thoughts on “Perspective: Four Thoughts on Finding Beauty in Stormy Relationships”

  1. I’m pretty guarded in what I say – I tend to filter things a few times before speaking, and when there are relationship storms about, I do that even more. I end up grunting a lot – noncommittally, of course.

    I also put on a mental recording of Elvis singing “You’ll Never Walk Alone”. Works a treat.

    Like

    1. Andrew, you are like my husband. He is very careful with his words. You made me smile with the “grunts” comment. 🙂 Love your ways of working through a storm. 🙂 Have a great day.

      Like

  2. Hey, my husband does a lot of grunting too. He is slow to speak. I know he process a situation before jumping into the fray. He is definite a peace maker.
    Jeanne, thanks for sharing the beautiful pictures. So many mornings I thank God for the beauty of this earth on my way to work.
    Some people walk into our store and their beauty shines forth before they say a word. And then when they speak, we all slow down to hear what they say because we know they’ll make us smile. I want to be like that. I want God’s love to pour out of me every where I go. I’m not saying it does, but I’d like for it to.
    I think prayer and time with God is the secret.

    Like

    1. Hmmm, slowing down for beauty. Whether in a person or in our surroundings. I wonder how much I miss on my hurry-up days? I love that thought, Jackie. Prayer and time with God help us in lots of ways, eh? Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

  3. What beautiful snow pictures! It is always easiest for me to see God in his creation. To go out on the porch, breathe deeply, look at the trees, hear the birds, and calm my own spirit.

    What struck me in this post was when you said you couldn’t wait to get home and dry the ugly of the morning off — and then God didn’t let you wait until you got home. How like Him — but only if we are open to see (or hear) what He gives us. I always pray that I will look up to him, and not down at my feet to see where I’m walking…

    Like

    1. You’re right. God didn’t let me wait to dry off the ugly. 🙂 I love that He knows what we need and meets us when He knows we need a touch from Him. What I hear you saying about experiencing God’s beauty is that you are purposeful in it. You slow down and look around you, breathing slowly and listening. I love that. 🙂

      Like

  4. I find beauty in the blessings that God has brought to my life, such as mom, who is and always has been my rock. My husband, whom God has worked in to make him a better man. My children, who are starting to mature in so many different wonderful ways. My family, I see beauty in the love that we all share, the unspoken understandings of knowing how much we all care for each other. Finally, my career, which God has allowed me to make a living from doing what I love. There have been many stormy times that I can remember, and I find beauty in these different blessings at different times. I forget sometimes to stop and take the time to enjoy the obvious natural beauty that surrounds me daily. I need to work on that.

    Like

    1. Love this, Lori.When we have eyes and a heart that are looking, we can see beauty all around. 🙂
      For the record, I have to work on seeing beauty too. Thanks so much for sharing here!

      Like

Comments are closed.