Kindness: It’s the Small Gestures That Make a Difference

Image

Did any of you read the story about the new widower who made a small gesture of paying for a young couple’s dinner at a restaurant?

 It was his first time dining alone since his wife had passed away. A nearby couple reminded him of his wife and the dates they’d shared. He just wanted to bless them because they had blessed him. So, he scrawled a note on a napkin, left it with his server, along with instructions to put their meal on his card. He went home never expecting anything beyond temporary happiness from his gesture.

Turns out, this story went viral. But, that’s not the point of this post.

Image Sometimes the small gestures we extend to others have far reaching affects. We may have any number of motives for offering an act of kindness. Maybe to make another’s day better, perhaps to improve our own day.

When we reach beyond ourselves and touch the life of another, it causes ripples. Creates a change. Some unseen, some seen.

Image

Image

As humans, we need those touches from others. God didn’t create us to be independent, but interdependent. We need each other. And we need God.

When we extend a glimpse of God to someone with a small gesture of kindness, we too walk away with the blessing.

ImageThe blessing of knowing God used us to touch the life of another—

To make someone’s life a little more joyful,

A little less sorrowful,

A little more special.

Image As I’ve considered the act of this man, I’m challenged.

I’m challenged to take a little time out of each day to look around me. To actually see people, watch their faces to read how they are doing. Really doing.

Who in my day could use a special touch of kindness? 

My goal this week is to lift my eyes from my to-do list and to see where I might be able to offer a small gesture of kindness.  Who will join me?

What about you? When has a small gesture from someone changed your day, your outlook? What have you done as a small gesture for others?

I originally read the story of Lee Ballantyne on Ann Voskamp’s blog.

7 thoughts on “Kindness: It’s the Small Gestures That Make a Difference

  1. Last Thanksgiving Eve, I stopped by at our local Calvary Chapel, and told the lady at the desk (who happened to be the pastor’s wife), “I’m thankful that you guys are a part of our community.”

    She started crying.

    I thought, “Wow, THAT backfired!” until I realized that they were happy tears. Apparently she had been feeling a bit taken for granted.

    Kind of cool.

    Like

  2. Sometimes, it really is just about taking time to smile at someone or say a word of encouragement. I especially feel drawn to people who are going through a hard time and try to do little things like send cards, make meals, buy little gifts — so they know they aren’t forgotten.

    Like

Comments are closed.