God, Gratitude, Gratitude in a relationship with God, Gratitude Thanking God For the Small Things

Gratitude: Thanking God For the Small Things

Image

“We pray for the big things and forget to give thanks for the ordinary, small (and yet really not small) gifts.” ~Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Life Together: The Classic Exploration of Faith in Community

Have you ever prayed for something big? I mean, the “it’s probably not going to happen because it’s so big” big?

I have. And, some of those big things, God has chosen to give me. Was my heart grateful? Oh yes! I thanked God. Praised Him. Sometimes, tears of deep gratitude flowed out to Him, so full was my heart.

I’ve found it’s almost easier to be thankful for the big things, because often those desires are beyond my control. I’m depending on God to give it. Or not. I’m asking, pleading, pouring my heart out to Him in petition. Hoping He’ll want to give it to me half as much as I desire it.

Like when I prayed for a husband.

Later, for the Air Force assignments we desired when hubby was active duty.

For children.

For healing.

These are the things that are so far beyond my control I can do nothing but trust God to do what’s best.

Image

God has given me many of my heart desires, and truly, I am grateful.

But what about those things that I can “get” in my own strength? Or those things that just “are?” They’re in my daily life, and I often don’t stop to thank God for them.

Image A home that keeps our family safe and warm

Electricity when I switch on a lamp

Image

Candles that add flickering flame and comforting scents to my days

What about those boy hugs I receive every morning, when they walk their sleepy selves downstairs, and the first place they want to be is on my lap wrapped in my arms for a few moments?

Image What about these?

Beauty’s found in thanking God for small things. They are gifts from God to me.

Image

I have working appliances, finances to feed our family well. Though my kitchen isn’t huge, I have enough space to store necessary items and to cook good meals. Beauty and life surround us.

I have so much.

I’ve begun what I call my Thankful Journal. I started it after reading One Thousand Gifts, by Ann Voskamp.

Being purposeful in gratitude for the big things, but even more for the little things in life brings peace to my heart.

Image

Some days, I have to be intentional in my search for things to write in my journal.

Sometimes it’s in the looking where I glimpse God’s fingerprints, His gifts for which I can be thankful.

What about you? How do you keep gratitude alive in your life? What are some of the small things you are thankful for today?

10 thoughts on “Gratitude: Thanking God For the Small Things”

    1. No coughs is always something to be thankful for! I loved Ann’s book. I took it in small doses because there’s so much in there to contemplate.

      Thanks for stopping by! I hope you continue to feel better!

      Like

Comments are closed.