Accomplishments Achieving a Goal, Goals, Life

Accomplishments: Achieving a Goal

Image

Last weekend, Peter and Edmund accomplished a challenging task. After five weeks of hard training, they tested for their black belts. This training required two-hour-a-day work outs seven days a week, a restricted diet (“What do you mean no chocolate, or sweets, Mom?!”), and push ups every morning. And don’t forget the one hundred sit ups in varying positions. These boys worked H-A-R-D. In addition to all this extra training, they had to keep up with school work and homework.

I couldn’t be prouder of them. They earned their black belts. And the praise they received. They gained a sense of accomplishing something great.

Image

I’m not sure they realize the magnitude of what they’ve accomplished, especially the character aspects. They learned how to stick with a difficult task. They saw the fruit of their hard work. They discovered they can achieve challenging goals.

It got me thinking about what it takes to achieve a goal:

  • Sacrifice. The boys sacrificed eating their favorite foods to develop the strength and stamina to complete the training. They gave up play time to work out.

Anytime we set out to accomplish a goal, other things will be sacrificed.

  • Purposeful effort. The boys had to remain focused in every aspect of their lives. Keeping up with homework, putting in time and energy to be at the dojo every day. There was little time for playing or fooling around.

When we want to accomplish a goal, we must put forth the effort to get it done—whether it’s writing a book, learning a new skill or excelling to the next level in a skill you already have. 

Image

  • Set your mind on achieving the goal. Peter and Edmund set their minds on doing what it took to attain their black belts. If they had been wishy-washy, it would have been too difficult to complete all that was required.

We must determine that we will do whatever it takes to accomplish our goal. 

  • The support and encouragement of others. The boys could have desired to get their black belts all they wanted. At nine and ten years old, they needed transportation to the dojo. Hubby or I drove them each day, and encouraged them. Hubby practiced skills with them at home. Others cheered them on during their workouts.

Having others on our team can make the difference between success and failure.

Image
Kyoshi Jay Haynes with Edmund and Peter
  • A reward. The boys both earned the reward of their black belts, but we also gave them something else they wanted. Because they worked hard.

Anticipating a reward on the other side of hard work can motivate us to press on when we’re tempted to quit.

Setting goals helps us move forward in life. When we have the right pieces in place, we can accomplish anything, as my boys have shown me (Because of them, I’m determined to master push ups!).

What about you? What have you found is necessary to accomplish something? What have you accomplished recently?

8 thoughts on “Accomplishments: Achieving a Goal”

  1. Great post, and congratulations to Peter and Edmund – and their Mom and Dad! It’s a shared victory, as most really are.

    I have a goal-in-progress, actually. A few months ago I decided to stop taking pain medication for severe pancreatic problems (maybe cancer, maybe not…can’t afford the tests).

    Uninsured, I could no longer afford the medication, nor the blood tests required to prove that I was using street drugs, as well. And i wanted my mind back. Narcotics build a wall against pain, but they also build one against reality.

    Needing something else, I decided to turn to exercise, and set as the first goal making the PT quals for BUD/S (that is, the minimum qualification for SEAL training).

    That wasn’t hard, really. All those dogs keep me fit.

    The next goal is the ‘operational’ DEVGRU physical profile (which doesn’t have an age adjustment). I can make the running and situps already – and am working on the 80 pushup minimum.

    One might ask, why bother? Why hurt MORE (for it does, and I puke blood)?

    Simple. The fitter you are, the farther you have to fall. Whatever this is, it’s bad, but I’m going to beat it. Prayer hasn’t worked, so it’s Plan B – ferocity.

    And if I’m facing death, I’d like to do it with my pride intact.

    Like

    1. Thank you, Andrew. I’ll pass on your congrats. 🙂 And yes, I agree. Most victories are shared. I admire your “taking back your life,” so to speak. I’ve had to be on painkillers on a temporary basis after surgeries, and I got off them as fast as I could. I can’t imagine the way it makes you feel long-term.

      Kudos to you for setting goals and achieving them, even at a cost. Being fit is good on so many levels. I’m praying for you. 🙂

      Like

  2. So proud of you and those boys! What a great accomplishment! Right now my goal is to adjust to changing circumstances, to sort out how my life is changing, and reestablish my life goals. It will come with the Holy Spirit leading. Andrew I’m praying for you to be ferocious about your relationship with God as well as with your body. I admire your attitude and gutsy goal. I pray you keep God working with you and your strength will gain power.

    Like

  3. I have a feeling that seeing their mom work so hard on completing her book (yay!) showed them exactly what hard work and sacrifice looked like…and they wanted to be just like her. 🙂 Congrats to all of you!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Lindsay. I do have one “under eleven”cheerleader who asks for word counts and whatnot. We do try to instill that facet of encouraging each other in our family, somewhat successfully. 🙂 Thanks for your kind words!

      Like

  4. A few years ago, #1 Son was given the award for Most Sportsmanlike on his hockey team. My husband told me that this was earned by his behaviour, not given out based on his points.

    I can imagine how full your heart was when P&E got those belts!!
    Kids learn by watching their parents. Even when we don’t think they’re looking our way at all.

    Like

    1. I think the awards our kids receive for character attributes mean more to me than their physical accomplishments, if that makes sense. 🙂 Yea for Son #1. And, I hope the boys do see something worth emulating in Hubby and me. 🙂
      Thanks so much for stopping by!!

      Like

Comments are closed.