Life, Perspective, Reflections: Who Am I Reflecting?, Uncategorized

Reflections: Who Am I Reflecting?

Image

As a girl, almost every time I saw still water, I peeked my head over one edge, with the hope of seeing my reflection mirrored back at me. Puddles in the sidewalk, quiet ponds and rivers . . . they all drew me to their sides. I loved seeing blue sky or trees in the background behind my face. Watching the water ripple with a breeze or a falling leaf or a fish kissing the surface and disrupting the reflection always fascinated me.

I’m still drawn to the water’s edge. I love capturing photographs of water reflections. Whether it’s a still river or a mountain lake, the beautiful scenes reflected in bodies of water leave me breathless. Mirrors, a pane of glass, a computer screen, even the moon reflect interesting images.

Image

We as people are “reflectors” also. The things we say and do reflect what we believe, who we admire, what’s going on inside us. As I’ve thought about this, here are a few observations about reflections:

Image

1. They are an image of reality—whether it’s the beauty of an idyllic scene or a city-scape, reflections show a mirror image of reality. How I act and what I say reveal much. I try to reflect Jesus to the world around me. My words and actions will either reflect His beauty growing within me, or they’ll reflect “self.”

Image

2. To see a clear reflection the water must be still—When water (or another reflecting surface) is still, the reflected image is clear. Lines and colors from nearby scenery create the mirror of a scene. When I am at peace internally, I reflect a clearer image of Jesus externally. I’m more attuned to what my family and those around me need. Hopefully, some of His beauty reflects through my face, words and actions.

Image

3. Reflections can be disrupted, though the original image doesn’t change. A breeze blowing across the surface of water creates waves or ripples. When the stillness is broken, the water loses the ability to reflect a clear image. But that doesn’t mean the original disappears. So too when I’m dealing with anxiety, anger, or other strong emotions, it will be reflected in how I treat others, and how I perceive situations. When I’m stirred up inside, I rarely reflect Jesus clearly. Instead, I reflect a stressed out woman. Who wants to look at that?

Image

The moon reflects a dim reflection of the sun’s brilliant light and heat. It shines in its own beauty, but it can’t produce it’s own beauty. Just as the moon is a dim mirror of the sun’s light, so I reflect the Son’s light to the world around me. The question is, how clearly do others see Him in me?

What about you? What do you hope your life reflects to those around you? What reflects beauty in your eyes?

9 thoughts on “Reflections: Who Am I Reflecting?”

  1. Jeanne, I liked how you went deeper into the reflection idea. The stillness, the disruption and the dimness. We all need to be reminded that we are reflecting back what we choose to focus on. And focusing on God can help us be calmer internally, handle the disruptions better and shine as brightly as we can. Thanks for the food for thought. 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by today, Melissa. I’m always surprised when I actually stop to think about what I’m reflecting, especially after an altercation with one of my kids. 🙂 But also in interactions with other people. Have a great day!

      Like

  2. There’s another kind of reflector that bears mention – the parabolic reflector that concentrates a beam of light, focusing it for a purpose.

    Reflecting Christ is something after which we should strive, but we are called to a step beyond that – to use His light to illuminate the terrible darkness through which we move.

    Like

    1. Andrew, you have such a way of taking my thoughts to the next level. 🙂 I love what you shared here. I considered thinking about how surfaces reflect light, like sun off of water, but opted to keep my post shorter. I didn’t know it was called a “parabolic reflector.” I’m going to remember that.

      And you’re right. We are called to use His light to illuminate the darkness around us. Maybe even to shine hope into the lives of those who have none.

      I always appreciate your thoughts!

      Like

  3. Jeanne, this is a beautiful and gripping analogy. I love the imagery. If these pics are from your backyard, I’m going to try really hard not to be jealous. 🙂 All of your points hit home, but I especially like the reminder that the original doesn’t change. Despite what chaos blows around me, despite how my reflection fails to do justice to the original, it remains constant. Unfaltering. Captivating. Always stirring my heart to emulate its beauty.

    Like

    1. Thank you for your kind words, Crystal. I wish these pics were from my back yard. 🙂 No need to be jealous. I love taking pictures whenever we travel places, especially of still water. We can’t always stop the chaos that blows around us, but we can choose how we respond to it, right? Stillness or turmoil.

      Thanks so much for stopping by!

      Like

Comments are closed.