Passion in Hard Times

Image

The day I began to write my first book was the first day I discovered unexpected passion. The story came into my head, exciting me and making my heart pound. Could I seriously write a book?

With the decision to try, I discovered passion in a whole new way. Passion to write well, to tell the story God gave me to tell. He didn’t give it to someone else. That thought instilled a deeper passion and an intense determination to do it well.

I will say writing is the second (after mothering two boys) most difficult thing I’ve ever attempted. The hard days have come. Remembering this story is mine to write has revived my passion when hope of ever finishing flailed. It’s helped me to not give up.

What about you? What’s the hardest thing you’ve ever attempted? Do you agree or disagree that passion is sometimes what keeps you going when the temptation to give up is strong?

9 thoughts on “Passion in Hard Times

  1. I don’t really know what the hardest thing I ever tried is. A lot of things seemed hard at first, but then became familiar, and manageable, if not simple. Writing certainly falls into that category; so does building airplanes. The mountains are climbed one step at a time.

    And that may be my ‘secret’; a certain dull yak-like doggedness. No one who knows me would call me passionate (except on one issue). I just do stuff. And, yes, I feel like I’m missing something, without that degree of emotional engagement.

    The one issue? Deliberate cruelty to the innocent. It’s best when that remains theoretical; when that passion ‘goes active’ on witnessing a child or animal being hurt, things can get a bit exciting.

    Like

    • Andrew, I always appreciate your thoughtful responses. 🙂 You’re right. Things that seem difficult at first become familiar, manageable and simple the more we do it. For me, some aspects of writing have become easier. Some are still a challenge. I can’t speak for building airplanes—so I’ll take your word for it. I think if we were passionate about everything it would 1) be exhausting and 2) become perhaps too commonplace. I’m thinking it’s okay to be passionate about only a few things, and the one that has your passion is one that is worth being passionate about.

      Like

  2. One of the hardest things I’ve done is stay. That one word says a lot. When betrayal coiled through a close relationship of mine, I chose to stay despite the pain that affected my waking and my sleeping. And yes, a passionate promise played a huge part in this.

    Like

    • Jenni, I’m sorry you had to walk through that. Betrayal is such a difficult thing to walk through. I’m glad you had the strength to do what was right for you. Passionate promises get us through a lot, don’t they?

      Thank you so much for sharing and for stopping by.

      Like

  3. Hey girl, I agree. (pretty succinct for me huh?) LOL! You know I have more to say! Anyway, I too find the writers life to be a difficult challenge and I long for the day when it will feel more routine and manageable. Trying to get started again and step out in faith (again) God is so patient. I have to remind myself of the same thing, that He gave my stories to ME to share, now I have to get off my butt (or rather on my butt in my chair) and do it. I think you’re right, without that passion in your heart, I think many things get set aside (actually so do the things you are passionate about sometimes too). I once heard it said that when you’re trying to figure out what your spiritual gifts are, look at what you are passionate about… It’s usually the same.

    Like

    • Melissa, you have some great stories to share. And you’d better write them because I want to read them. 🙂 I loved your thought about determining spiritual gifts by what you’re passionate about. I haven’t considered that before.

      Thank you so much for stopping by!

      Like

  4. Pingback: Where there’s passion… | Clarabelle

  5. Passion and has gotten me through many things in life. I am the type of person that once I set a goal, there isn’t much that can stop me. I can remember working night shifts at a 7-Eleven, and going to school during the day, just to put myself through school so that I could follow my dreams and obtain my goals. I always tell people that if they are truly passionate about something, then they should pursue it with all of their heart, and it will work out in the end. 😀

    Like

Comments are closed.