Celebrating God's Plans, Mothering, Plan, Relationship

Celebrating God’s Plans

Image
Image courtesy of chrisroll at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Call me a newbie blogger, or just say I had a blonde moment (yes, there is still some naturally blonde hair on my head), but I forgot about writing anything relating to Mother’s Day last week. Yesterday, I remembered again why Mother’s Day is special . . .

As I write this, my husband is driving the four of us to my sister’s house.

The plan is to celebrate the mothers in our family. Our boys will play with their cousins and get a lot wild. We’ll eat, laugh, talk and remember a few events from years gone by.

Image
Image courtesy of David Castillo Dominici at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

What a blessing it is to be a mother and celebrate this day. Motherhood came hard for my honey and me. Years of infertility drove us closer to Jesus. He brought us face-to-face with the reality of how much we are not in control, especially when it came to  becoming parents.

It’s funny—I always thought I could map out the big events of my life. My plan was to be married by twenty-two, have children before thirty, experience the joys and frustrations of pregnancy, run around crazy with toddlers and then again when the kids became teens.

God’s plans looked far different from mine. Shocker, huh? I didn’t meet Mr. Wonderful until I was twenty-seven. We married just before my twenty-ninth birthday. We planned to wait eighteen months, or so, and then begin “trying” for a baby. We tried. And tried. And tried.

God had His hand on that too. If pregnancy had happened on my time table, we never would have become the parents of our precious Peter and Edmund. Peter came along when I was almost thirty-six. Maybe it’s because motherhood came so hard for us that I love celebrating Mother’s Day. It’s an opportunity to celebrate God’s great plans fulfilled in our lives. Mother’s Day is special to me because it reminds me that God’s ways are higher than my ways (Isaiah 55:8-9). Even in the midst of life’s heartaches, He is good.

What about you? What has come hard for you? How have you handled the process of waiting for it and accepting God’s plan?

14 thoughts on “Celebrating God’s Plans”

  1. Hi Jeanne,
    Thanks for your encouraging message this morning as a drink my coffee.We to were blessed by adoption but as we found out our youngest had autism and the struggles that come with raising a special needs child I have to remember and cling to Gods promises that he is in control and has a plan in all things .He has certainly already used this to give me so much more love and grace for all special needs parents .He is always good!Kellie Ortiz

    Like

    1. Kellie, I’m so glad you stopped by today! Thanks for sharing a part of your story, your struggle. How often God’s plan look different from our own. Adoption + autism = many challenges. Thankfully, God equips us for those challenges, as we cling to Him. I love that you’re not wasting the heartaches and the joys, but that you’re pouring outlive to others from the depths of your own struggles. You’re right—God is always good. 🙂 I’ll be praying for you.

      Like

  2. Thanks for sharing your story. Waiting is the hardest place to be, but the work God does in those moments are often amazing. I love that your boys names are Peter and Edmund 🙂

    Like

    1. Hey Lisa, I’m so glad you stopped by today. 🙂 You’re right, waiting is a hard place to be. I love that God never wastes those waiting times, though. As we trust Him, seek Him in those times, He draws us near to Himself.

      Actually, my boys’ names are not really Peter and Edmund. I use these names to “protect the innocent” so to speak. But they chose what names I’d call them on my blog. 🙂

      Like

  3. I love hearing your story again. I’m a planner. I like to be in control. And life has shown me over and over that I’m just not. 😛 My own plan was to put Mike through law school (which I did) but have our first kid right after he graduated (that was 3 years ago). Instead, we decided to focus on paying off debt…which I had kind of forgotten about. Oops. And here I am, 28, no kids yet, when I’d planned to have them much earlier. I still worry about the future, about whether we’ll ever be able to have our own kids (my mom had 5 miscarriages and I’ve had so many friends have trouble), about this, about that…but in the end, God knows what my family will look like in 5 or 10 years. And that should be enough for me. I’m praying for it to be enough.

    Like

    1. Awww, Lindsay, your comments resonate with my heart. My own struggles with God and control are on-going, but I’m learning to relinquish more quickly, when I see that I’m trying to make my plans happen. 🙂

      Coming into the Mommy journey is different for each woman, as you know. Choosing to approach it with trust rather than fear makes the waiting time more peaceful (spoken from one who’s done it both ways). Keep praying and trusting, my friend. He knows the children He has for you, and you will be the perfect mother for them.

      Like

  4. I often struggle with why God has allowed me to be in pain almost everyday. The only part of my bone structure that doesn’t hurt is the bridge of my nose. Then there is the nerve damage from the back on down.
    But I can walk and see. I can hear. Having deaf family, and being a singer, I truly don’t know what I’d do if I lost music.
    I have to accept His plan because, as the man said “my arms are too short to box with God”.
    I have been given many opportunities to do things I never thought possible. So, I’m good.

    Like

    1. I love your honesty and your outlook, Jennifer. Focusing on the gifts God has given us is a great way to help us put our eyes where they need to be—on Jesus.

      I love music and singing too. And I agree, losing that would be difficult to deal with. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by today!

      Like

  5. Dearest Jeanne–I am reading this obviously MUCH later than you posted it. (How did I miss it the first time, anyway???) I remember how both of us walked thru those days….and I won’t ever forget the heartbreak that you in particular endured. How good God is in the deepest difficulties, though, to hold our hearts, our lives and our loved ones in His strong hands. So thankful for the boys he’s placed in our families (and also VERY thankful that they love to hang out together!). Love you dear!

    Like

Comments are closed.