Book Reviews, Catch A Falling Star

Catch A Falling Star-Book Review

ImageI’ve known Beth Vogt for many years, and I’m privileged to call her friend. We met when our Air Force husbands were stationed in Colorado Springs–um, a long time ago. She is one of the most gracious, encouraging people I know.

When she began writing fiction, I knew it was only a matter of time before she was published. She has a unique voice–fun and honest. Her debut novel, Wish You Were Here, was a great read. Catch A Falling Star, her latest novel, takes her gift for crafting a wonderful story to a whole new level. I loved it! And, I’m not just saying that because she’s my friend. It’s one of my favorite books of 2013.

A little bit about Catch a Falling Star:

 Image

***

Dr. Kendall Haynes’s plans to have it all–a career, a husband, a family–are eluding her. Now that she’s thirty-six, she needs to stop wishing upon a star and face reality: Some dreams just never come true.

Air Force pilot Griffin Walker prefers flying solo in the air and on the ground–until a dangerous choice ejects him from the cockpit. His life becomes even more complicated after the sudden death of his parents makes him the guardian of his sixteen-year-old brother. There’s no way his life will ever get back on course now.

When their lives collide during a near tragedy, Kendall and Griffin must decide if they can embrace the unexpected changes God has waiting for them.

 ***

I give this book five stars. This engaging, inspirational romance gripped me from the moment I opened the front cover until I turned that last page. I love how Beth dealt with real life issues in such gracious and thoughtful ways. The depth of the characters brought them to life in my mind and heart. I laughed, I cried, and I didn’t want the story to end.

Beth’s characters are real and likeable. Dr. Kendall Haynes is delightful–competent and caring, both about her patients and others in her world. And how can you not love a gal who loves jeeps?

Griffin Walker has flying in his blood. All he’s ever dreamed of is being a pilot. He’s a great mix of confidence and flaws, which makes me love him. He’s willing to ask for help, which is always a nice quality in a guy. Of course, it also helps that he’s handsome.

The secondary characters in this story left me wanting to know them better, and hoping their dreams would become reality, especially Evie’s.  And the sigh-worthy ending? Ahhhh, so satisfying.

Catch A Falling Star will stay with you once you close that back cover for the last time. I’m already looking forward to Beth’s next book.

***

 Image

 A little bit about Beth:

Beth K. Vogt is a nonfiction author who said she’d never write fiction. She also said she’d never marry a doctor or anyone in the military, and is now happily married to a former Air Force family physician. Beth believes God’s best is often behind the door marked “Never.” An established magazine writer and editor, Beth’s debut novel, Wish you Were Here, was released May 2012. She writes inspirational contemporary romance because she believes there is more to happily ever after than the fairy tales tell us.

Catch A Falling Star releases today! You can find it on Christianbook.com and on Amazon, among other places.

**I received an advanced reader copy of this book with no obligation to review it. All opinions are my own.**

Thanks for stopping by today!

What about you? What “Must Read” book do you recommend for this summer?Who are your favorite authors?

 

2 thoughts on “Catch A Falling Star-Book Review”

Comments are closed.