Friendship, Relationship

Musings on Friendship

ImagePIctures of little girls holding hands, swinging them as they stroll down a grass-bordered path, always revives that “Awww” factor in me. There is something about having girlfriends that deepens women’s lives. I’ve been blessed over the years to have at least one friend walk beside me during a trial in my life. From the time I was a young girl until now.

I’ve had friends for a season and friends who have become life-long confidantes. God uses each kind of friendship in my life. These women have taught me something. They’ve had a hand in molding me into the woman I am today, the woman I am still becoming.

Some have helped me to laugh at myself rather than take life so seriously. Others have taught me to live with more spontaneity. Most have shown me how to live out grace in sticky situations. They’ve taught me how to listen with empathy and quiet. They’ve given me a kick in the pants when I needed it. They’ve drawn me up out of my pity-party and back into an accurate perspective. They’ve spoken truth to me when I couldn’t see it myself. They accept me for who I am, rather than trying to change me into who they think I should be. I hope I’ve given back as much as they’ve gifted to me.

I love how God created us to be interdependent. We can try to do life alone. But it’s so much more enriching to walk through the good times and the struggles with someone at our side, holding our hands, literally or figuratively.

Your Turn: What qualities do some of your closest friends have?  What is important to you in a friend?

8 thoughts on “Musings on Friendship”

    1. Lisa, thanks for stopping by. It sounds like you have some treasured friends in your circle. Laughing, being safe to be yourself with, pointing you to God–all wonderful qualities to have in a friend!

      Like

  1. As much as I love my husband and my boys, I need women in my life. I’ve had friends for a season and long lifetime pals. I have a core group of friends who build me up and have invested enough in our relationship to tell me the truth. I’m so thankful for the friends in my lives.

    Like

    1. I definitely need women in my life too. Shortly after the Air Force moved us to a new place, I hadn’t made friends yet. My honey had a hard day, and I was oh, so ready to spill out all my unused words on him. He wasn’t ready to soak them up. He said, “You can talk, but don’t expect me to respond.” It shut me down. Later, we both realized the importance of having friends. I learned so much from that interchange with my man. 🙂

      Those core friends are sometimes what keep us sane, aren’t they? I’m glad you’ve been blessed with great friends, Lisa.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Lindsay–that certainly goes both ways. 🙂 Having girlfriends not only keeps me sane, it keeps my husband sane too. 🙂 I love that a writing connection crossed our paths, but even more the friendship that has come from that. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. When we moved here, I knew 2 other scientists’ wives. We were friendLY but not close friends. I had no one for 6 months. Not even the church we were attending bothered to reach out to us. People who know me now cannot understand how I survived!!
    We went to a new church and before I knew it, I had my days full and my heart overflowing.

    My very best friend lives in California. That’s about 4000 miles from here. We have “to the grave” secrets.

    Loyalty, trust, wit and grace. That’s what I give, that’s what I ask for.

    Like

    1. Jennifer, it’s difficult to move to a new place and not have anyone from church reach out. I’ve been there too. I love how you described the “to the grave” secrets. I’ve got a few of those too. 😉

      I like your friendship qualities–those certainly help a relationship go down deep.

      Like

Comments are closed.