Planned Passion?

ImageFor the last few years, instead of making a list of New Year’s resolutions, I have focused on one word. Last year, my word was PASSION. I learned a number of things about “passion” that I would like to share on this blog.

I was surprised that this word ended up being the one given to me to focus on. I am a very planned lady. I like my plan. I work my plan. My plan is my comfort zone. This seldom leaves room for the spontaneity passion sometimes requires.

I began thinking about what I am passionate about. Things I’m passionate about include living my life in a way that will point others to God, in a good way. I am passionate about being the best wife and mom that I can be for my family. I am passionate about the stories I write.

Each of these items has an element of planning involved. But, more than that they each require an investment of time and effort. To be a good wife to my hubby, I need to spend time with him, listen, learn to understand what makes him tick. Some of these “lessons” came through arguments, others came through watching him.

As a mom, my plans sometimes fly south for the day before my kids are even off to school. As they grow older, I am discovering they need more of me, not so much what I do for them. Yes, they need good meals and transportation. But they also need a listening ear and a heart that desires to understand them. This requires me to set aside my “to-do” list and focus on them.

I came to writing much later in life than most of my writer friends, but I love it! When some poor person makes the mistake of asking me about my story or what I’m learning about writing craft, they’ll probably get more of an answer than they bargained for. My spirit is light, excited when I get to talk about it. Writing, too, has required me to adjust my “plans,” my timetable.

Being passionate about relationships with God and my family and about writing stretches me, requires more of me than I thought they would. Learning to live with passion is changing me for the better. I’m moving beyond my plan and focus on the “the to-do list” into a place of focusing on hearts.

Your Turn: What are you passionate about? What motivates your passion?

12 thoughts on “Planned Passion?

  1. Great post, Jeanne! Like you, I am passionate about my family-being an encourager to my super awesome husband, raising my boys up to be mighty warriors for God, and for myself to be a lover and a servant of Christ. Writing is icing on the cake! 🙂

    Like

    • Amy, I like that–“writing is icing on the cake!” I love hearing what you’re passionate about. And, I like the thought of raising my boys up to be warriors for Christ too. Thanks for sharing your thoughts today!

      Like

  2. Passion is a good word to examine one’s life. i am passionate about the Word of God and its meaning and blessings. I’m passionate about helping people. My husband, my family are the staple of my life. Gods love encloses us in a special paradigm where life is an extension of His love.

    Like

  3. Wonderful post, Jeanne. I’m a planner too, but I’ve learned to be flexible in my planning because spontaneity can bring out a new passion. I’m passionate about my marriage and my family and modeling Godly wife/mother behaviors. I’m passionate about putting words to a page. I’m passionate about spending time with friends and family who build me up and help me to see myself as others see me. I’m passionate about being the person God created me to be.

    Like

    • Lisa, I like when God gives glimpses of how others see us. I sometimes need that outside perspective to re-align my thoughts and get them focused in the right direction again.

      I love that your passions wrap around relationships that are important to you. Thanks so much for stopping by today!

      Like

  4. Coming back to this post late in the day … it’s heading on to tomorrow.
    But I so enjoyed what you shared about passion, Jeanne. And I love the quote about passion and purpose going hand in hand!

    Like

    • Thanks so much for stopping by, Beth. Yep, even though Passion was 2012’s word, I still find myself pondering it. 🙂 Passion and purpose holding hands. It definitely keeps me more focused when they are together in my head. 🙂

      Like

  5. “As they grow older, I am discovering they need more of me, not so much what I do for them.”

    My 15 year old, independent NON-emotional son asked me several times to make his sandwich. My kids make their own lunches. I tell them “if you can move that puck from one end of the ice to the other, take out someone along the way and score a goal? YOU can make a sandwich.” He kept telling me he didn’t have time, then he said he didn’t know where things were, none of it true.
    Finally I asked, very quietly, “Is it that you just want your Mom to make your sandwich?”
    He looked at the floor and mumbled. “Yeah, I just like knowing that you made my sandwich for me.”

    I made it. And now I just make it for him, not discussion, just a sandwich.

    Like

    • Jennifer, thanks for stopping by! You’re a few years beyond me in mothering boys. I’ll keep your thoughts in mind as mine continue to grow. Seeing and understanding their hearts and what helps them feel loved takes many different forms, doesn’t it? 🙂 Loved your story today. Thanks.

      Like

  6. As a mom of two boys, I lost sight of what brings me passion. As they have gotten older I have had to take active steps to find what I am passionate about. This takes paying attention to that inner voice that gives that little inspiration to try something new. I recently had the idea of competitive body building present itself to me once again. This time I took it seriously after dashing the idea many times over the past years. After jumping in with both feet and not really knowing what it fully entailed, I find that I have landed upon something that truly ignites something within; a need to strengthen my body, be disciplined in my eating, and dedicated when I’d rather not go to the gym. I am finding that it is a piece of my personal growth puzzle. But, what I’ve found is that the process is energizing and that I believe is the indicator if we are on course. I believe God plants those little ideas for us to try new things and until we actually take the action to do it we never know what it ignites within. Passion is something that rounds out our life to give us balance so that we can be more effective in ALL areas of our life and that is pleasing to God.

    Jeanne, your posts are truly a blessing to me! Thank you!

    Like

    • Peggy, thanks for stopping by! You’ve shared some great thoughts about passion. I like the idea of our passions being that motivator to do something when we don’t “feel like it.” Keeping our eyes on the big picture of what we hope to do helps us in the day to day doing, doesn’t it? You are an inspiration to me.

      Like

Comments are closed.